Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2008, 11:36 AM   #1
e30blue
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 299
wiring an aftermarket deck?

ok so i took out the oem radio out of my e30 and was all psyched about installing the new deck i picked up...but realized that the wiring is all weird and it really makes no sense to me...i've done many searches and ppl just say it's easier to rewire the whole thing...

i'm against paying ppl to do shit for me if there's any chance i can do it myself...

keep in mind i'm not an electronics expert but i would like to try to do the rewiring myself.

anybody have any tips on doing this...or maybe even have a simpler way of hooking up the deck without rewiring?

thanks,
kris
e30blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 11:52 AM   #2
BMW BMXer
Wants a 350 Blazer.
 
BMW BMXer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,761
Send a message via ICQ to BMW BMXer Send a message via AIM to BMW BMXer Send a message via MSN to BMW BMXer Send a message via Yahoo to BMW BMXer
Its true you have to rewire, but its not that hard.

I have the wiring codes in my glove box I can grab them for you later.

Do you have the instructions for the wiring codes on your deck? I didn't made things take slightly longer.
__________________

Stanceiseverything.com
BMW BMXer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 12:27 PM   #3
everlast
if I lived . I would be ~
 
everlast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,847
What I did:

-removed factory deck
-removed factory amp
-ran new wires to the front, connected behind the kick panels; easy
-ran the rear speaker wires from the new deck to four factory wires that go to the rear amp
-at the rear amp location, find those same four wires, cut them, and run new short lines to each rear speaker

Honestly, it is probably easier just to remove the trim panels along the pass door(s) and run two new wires into the rear area instead of my wire-saving technique.

If you have factory tweeters be careful, you might find that they are grounded on the neg side, in which case you'll need to rewire them inside the front door while you're at it.

Just take your time and remember that it's simply two wires to each speaker. Once you ignore all the other crap, running four doubled wires to each is easy.
__________________
everlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 12:34 PM   #4
e30blue
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 299
no i don't have the codes...

i'm gonna give it a shot tomorrow, i'm stuck in class all day today.

ill let u guys know how it goes, hopefully it's as easy as it sounds
e30blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 12:40 PM   #5
everlast
if I lived . I would be ~
 
everlast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,847
http://www.verrill.com/car/e30_stere...gdiagram.shtml

Most aftermarket radios uses the same colors as each other, but I'd google your deck and see if you can confirm them, otherwise, you'll be guessing forever.
__________________
everlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 01:39 PM   #6
punnzzells
Banned
 
punnzzells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: toronto
Posts: 4,724
Send a message via MSN to punnzzells Send a message via Yahoo to punnzzells
http://www.unitedbimmer.com/forums/c...termarket.html
punnzzells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 03:38 PM   #7
El Gato Liso
6th Gear Member
 
El Gato Liso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brampton
Posts: 3,110
you really dont have to rewire
i wired up using stock wires. but i reqwired in my other e30 cuz prev. owener butchered the shit out fo the wires.

you're only using the +front right and the + front left speaker wires.
thats it. besides power antennga and ground of course. the brown wire is ground. then white/blue stripe i think is antenna, and the solid blue and solid white wires are your speaker connecters for the +front right and the + front left of the harness

edit: i think im dead wrong with the wire colors. but i know im correct when i say install aftermarket harness only using +front right and the + front left speaker wires of the stock wiring. ASSUMING YOU GOT THE STOCK AMP INSTALLED STILL.
__________________
R.I.P. E30

Last edited by El Gato Liso; 10-07-2008 at 03:40 PM.
El Gato Liso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 11:26 PM   #8
Ej_Red
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: T.O
Posts: 188
What system do you have premium or not? If it is premium then there you go,
Yellow - Red/Green
Red - Violet/Gray
Black - Brown
Blue - White
Orange - Gray/Red

Following wires found at the fader:

Green - Yellow/Red
Green/Black - Yellow/Black
Purple - Blue/Red
Purple/Black - Blue/Black


Now, look in your trunk for the amplifier. Find these wires in the connector and connect them as shown:

(Note: There are two Black/Brown wires listed. They do not connect together. Connect them temporarily to test. If you have no sound out of your rear speakers, swap them and make your connection permanent.)

Black/Brown - Yellow/Red
Black/Violet - Yellow/Black
Black/White - Blue/Red
Black/Brown - Blue/Black

The front speakers. You need to run new wires to the front speakers from the headunit. (easier than rewiring the whole car, remember that) I will give you the wire colors at the back of the speakers to cut and connect to your new wire from the headunit.

Left:
White - Gray/Red
White/Black - Gray/Violet

Right:
Gray - Gray/White
Gray/Black - Gray/Brown

Info taken from e30tech.
Ej_Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 12:26 PM   #9
woofster
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 578
Unless you're putting in new speakers, subwoofer, amp, etc. I would probably just use the existing wires to hook up your head unit.
__________________
2006 BMW X3
2003 Acura MDX
woofster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 02:35 PM   #10
everlast
if I lived . I would be ~
 
everlast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,847
^^ Nope, bad idea. If you have the factory amp, the wires won't work at all, and even if you don't, the fronts are partially grounded instead of floating ground.
__________________
everlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 03:03 AM   #11
e30blue
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 299
well i finally wired it and got it working...thanks for the help
e30blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:48 PM   #12
TopSpeed
3rd Gear Member
 
TopSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Port Credit
Posts: 559
I had a similar situation in my 87 325is.

The part that made it easier for me was that it already had a deck but not an MP3-capable one so I installed my Eclipse I had lying around.

I only used 8 wires. Power, switched power, ground, amp/pwr antenna (to turn on the factory amp and my amp), and 4 speaker '+' wires. Didn't use the negative side of the speaker wires coming from the deck. It works but the speakers are a little shitty. I don't care, the thing is my winter beater/track toy so the radio and stuff is all going to come out in the spring anyway.
__________________
TopSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.