Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 6/8 series
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-14-2008, 10:19 AM   #1
gcunha
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oakville
Posts: 27
Cluster in Milles/KLm

I recently purchased a 645ci from US, and the cluster comes with milles on the Outside and Klm on smaller fonts inside. Does anyone knows if I can buy a Canadian cluster or sticker to replace that one.

Thanks in advance.
gcunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 01:28 PM   #2
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,083
Yes, you can purchase a candian cluster, and have it re-programmed for your car.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 01:46 PM   #3
Quack
Wheelman
 
Quack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,062
Send a message via MSN to Quack
because there's already KM on the cluster you might not have to replace it, my friend did a conversion on a S-Class earlier today & the cluster is like what you described, but replacing the cluster wasn't nessecery, only if you don't have the KM readings you will need to replace the cluster, I think you should check with BMW Canada before you go & spend $1200+ for a cluster.
__________________

Maxbimmer Drama, You Gotta Love It
Quack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 03:33 PM   #4
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,083
You don't, by law, have to change it if there are KM's on the cluster. That's how it was for my M5.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 04:13 PM   #5
Boots R
Boots, not boost
 
Boots R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brampton
Posts: 11,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamite View Post
You don't, by law, have to change it if there are KM's on the cluster. That's how it was for my M5.
Did you have to reprogram the ODO to show in KM? Or did the border not care?
Boots R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 05:17 PM   #6
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,359
theres a bylaw that it must show km?
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 01:17 AM   #7
nX07
1st Gear Newbie
 
nX07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 18
Any insights in regards to the law and KM's on the cluster? My friend bought a US vehicle that didn't have any KPH listings, only MPH.
__________________
nX07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 01:40 AM   #8
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,359
all cars after (I believe) 1995 has km showing within the middle of the speedometer while you have mph on the outside. Car should be 100% legal in the sense of the cluster but if he were to change it .. it would be expensive unless he found a similar car in a crash or bone yard .. he can easily swap it out. Takes 2 minutes.
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014