Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2008, 05:55 PM   #1
Allstar_e36
2nd Gear Member
 
Allstar_e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga/Oshawa
Posts: 81
help with headlights from ddm

Hey guys,
Ive been trying to figure this out for a while, and im stumped.

i bought apexcone headlights from ddm with 6000k hid and AE's

i wired them up and everything, AE's are powered from the grey wire in the turn signals.

something is messed up because:

when i turn my car on - only the AE's turn on ( which is ok)
when i turn the light switch to position 1 - the AE's stay on buy the highbeams also turn on ( highbeams shouldnt turn on)
turn to position 2 - HID's turn on, highbeams are still on, AE's turn of
when i high beam - the AE's go i a little brighter

what have i done wrong, ive been trying to figure this out for weeks now, but i just can't.

any help would be greatly appreciated.
Allstar_e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 05:59 PM   #2
Allstar_e36
2nd Gear Member
 
Allstar_e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga/Oshawa
Posts: 81
And from what i know i think it should be like this

0 is supposed to be off, or just angel eyes
1 is supposed to be angel eyes and parking lights,
2 is supposed to be lows and angel eyes, then highbeams.
Allstar_e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 07:47 PM   #3
$500bimmer
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: brampton
Posts: 1,465
you have some wires messed up there....

i cant off hand remember what wire goes to what but i know someone can chime in to help out
__________________

$500bimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 04:44 PM   #4
Allstar_e36
2nd Gear Member
 
Allstar_e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga/Oshawa
Posts: 81
common doesnt anyone know what could be wrong.. please help
Allstar_e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 06:30 PM   #5
M3ti Compact
Fuel Efficient 318 Member
 
M3ti Compact's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,465
Depo lights, but same concept

http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=69422
__________________
M3ti Compact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 12:03 PM   #6
Allstar_e36
2nd Gear Member
 
Allstar_e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga/Oshawa
Posts: 81
Thanks for the link bud, but i need help on the actual wiring. so when ur looking at the plug on the back of the headlight, which wire goes on the top, right, bottom, left pin.
thanks
Allstar_e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 12:13 PM   #7
dbworld4k
Addict
 
dbworld4k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: YYZ / ORD
Posts: 7,277
The wire for your AE's to the headlights should be swapped with the wire coming from the highs. The higs and lows also need to be swapped.
__________________


'02 ///M5 Imola Red / Imola Red '09 335i Alpine White / Coral Red

Past:
'04 E55 AMG Brilliant Silver / Anthracite
'96 318i Alpine White / Black
'01 330Ci Titanium Silver / Coral Red
'96 328i Jet Black / Black
dbworld4k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 12:21 PM   #8
Allstar_e36
2nd Gear Member
 
Allstar_e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga/Oshawa
Posts: 81
Thanks dbworld i will go try that
Allstar_e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 12:24 PM   #9
dbworld4k
Addict
 
dbworld4k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: YYZ / ORD
Posts: 7,277
Just noticed you have HIDs, so you don't need to touch the HID wiring. Just swap the AEs with the highs and it should work.
__________________


'02 ///M5 Imola Red / Imola Red '09 335i Alpine White / Coral Red

Past:
'04 E55 AMG Brilliant Silver / Anthracite
'96 318i Alpine White / Black
'01 330Ci Titanium Silver / Coral Red
'96 328i Jet Black / Black
dbworld4k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 04:23 PM   #10
doogee
Stance is Gay.
 
doogee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ancaster
Posts: 3,452
Send a message via MSN to doogee
Be careful, I blew an inverter having them plugged into the high beams by accident
__________________


Dakar M3 Track Build Thread
doogee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 09:51 PM   #11
Allstar_e36
2nd Gear Member
 
Allstar_e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga/Oshawa
Posts: 81
Thanks for the help guys, the car is now gone to paint. so im gonna have to try it out when i get it back. should be in a couple of days, ill let u guys know if it works.
Allstar_e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 08:14 PM   #12
Allstar_e36
2nd Gear Member
 
Allstar_e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga/Oshawa
Posts: 81
Hey i just got my car back, and tried out what dbworld said and it worked. thanks alot man
really appreciate it.

- Sunny
Allstar_e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014