Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Specific Regional Topics > Quebec/Gatineau/Ottawa
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2008, 03:31 PM   #16
chromius
6th Gear Member
 
chromius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigD View Post
JFYI my crappy tire fuel hoses say 12 bar.
Good stuff...guess they changed them since I last checked.
__________________
Photobucket
chromius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 04:14 PM   #17
ecuconnection
6th Gear Member
 
ecuconnection's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,018
so for my brake line repair it's like a 2 inch bad section and I dont want to replace the whole line... can I flare the line and use rubber hose rated for brake line use and just double clamp? or do do I need to use presure fitings?
ecuconnection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 06:57 PM   #18
chromius
6th Gear Member
 
chromius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by BearsBmr View Post
so for my brake line repair it's like a 2 inch bad section and I dont want to replace the whole line... can I flare the line and use rubber hose rated for brake line use and just double clamp? or do do I need to use presure fitings?
I don't think hose clamps will do for a brake line, you'll want to put a proper 'AN' fitting on.
__________________
Photobucket
chromius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 07:31 PM   #19
ecuconnection
6th Gear Member
 
ecuconnection's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,018
decided Im going to replace the whole line... I took a good look at everything and it's actulay much easyer then I thought it would be ... all the lines are clearly visible surprizingly... I bet it's not like that on the 540 haha
ecuconnection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 11:15 PM   #20
carjoe
6th Gear Member
 
carjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,839
Keep practicing Barry...I'm gonna pay you in car parts to start working on mine!
__________________

93 325is - sold!


2000 540ia- sold!


carjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 08:32 AM   #21
chromius
6th Gear Member
 
chromius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by BearsBmr View Post
I bet it's not like that on the 540 haha
Yeah it is. They're all visible. Most cars have them out in the open like that.
__________________
Photobucket
chromius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 08:35 AM   #22
ecuconnection
6th Gear Member
 
ecuconnection's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,018
oh well then ... I'm sure that would be the last thing to go on your car anyway
ecuconnection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 08:37 AM   #23
ecuconnection
6th Gear Member
 
ecuconnection's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by carjoe View Post
Keep practicing Barry...I'm gonna pay you in car parts to start working on mine!

yup im getng prity good with the e36... I just have to remember to titghten all the bolts up while swet is driping in my eyes
ecuconnection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 08:40 AM   #24
chromius
6th Gear Member
 
chromius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by BearsBmr View Post
oh well then ... I'm sure that would be the last thing to go on your car anyway
Yeah, instead it's just repetitive power steering pump and cooling system breakage
__________________
Photobucket
chromius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 10:14 AM   #25
Nascar318is
6th Gear Member
 
Nascar318is's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,936
I don't know man... I'd go full lines, not rubber ones, after what happened with the ford and my super rubber line... never again. If you install all that stuff by yourself, spend the money on the steel lines... And the bunder is around $15 at CT, you can do 4 different sizes.. My buddy did his fuel(all of them) and rear brake lines.. with the bender and some line..


I agree with Joey, keep practising, cause I'm starting to smell gas....
__________________

1994 318is-Sold July 13th 2010.. Sad Sad Day
Nascar318is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 09:27 AM   #26
AWD_Guy
1st Gear Newbie
 
AWD_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 43
Yes, newb bringing this from the dead....

I just re-did the fuel lines on my e30, I bought the lines from Otto's, think it came out to $80 for the feed and return lines...

Relatively simple install, had a hard time undoing the old line where they were rusted, but that was the hardest part. Suggest anybody looking at redoing their lines to take a look at the oem kit. probably a little more money than flaring your own, but its was a straight bolt in procedure, worked out great
AWD_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 11:06 AM   #27
everlast
if I lived . I would be ~
 
everlast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,847
Were they already bent?
__________________
everlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 11:44 AM   #28
AWD_Guy
1st Gear Newbie
 
AWD_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by everlast View Post
Were they already bent?
Yup...like I said, it was a direct bolt in. Take old ones out, put new ones in, voila, new fuel lines.

EDIT: All i did was look up the part #'s on realoem.com and gave those to the parts guy at Otto's.

Last edited by AWD_Guy; 11-14-2008 at 11:49 AM.
AWD_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 12:02 PM   #29
everlast
if I lived . I would be ~
 
everlast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,847
I only ask because brake lines are straight, not pre-bent, so I assumed they'd be the same. Good info, thanks!
__________________
everlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 12:36 PM   #30
AWD_Guy
1st Gear Newbie
 
AWD_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by everlast View Post
I only ask because brake lines are straight, not pre-bent, so I assumed they'd be the same. Good info, thanks!
Im not sure if they sell the same kind of kit for the brakelines...Im due though...I can be the test mule! Yay!
AWD_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.