Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2008, 12:07 PM   #1
MVPIRES
RESTART
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NORTH
Posts: 200
Break light Circuit?



What is it, I called the dealer and they have no clue they want me to leave the car. I change the break bulbs and still came shit!!
MVPIRES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 12:16 PM   #2
dannyb
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gatineau Qc
Posts: 635
brake switch?
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 12:48 PM   #3
MVPIRES
RESTART
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NORTH
Posts: 200
brake switch,where's that?
MVPIRES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 02:11 PM   #4
dannyb
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gatineau Qc
Posts: 635
behind the brake pedal, its easy to change.
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 02:43 PM   #5
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stance
Posts: 12,929
Yeah, most of the time it's the brake pedal switch, like $30.
__________________

@stancejay
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 02:46 PM   #6
cisco911
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,514
I would say brake light switch or the tail light sockets or socket contacts.
__________________
I'm just a crazy m*thrf*cker, livin it up, not givin a f*ck, living life in the fast lane
cisco911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 03:36 PM   #7
MVPIRES
RESTART
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NORTH
Posts: 200
Thanks, I called the dealer it's $39. Im going to get it today.
MVPIRES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 04:57 PM   #8
slemmer
Driving in the fast lane
 
slemmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missed in 'sauga
Posts: 3,002
Same problem Usually comes on when I jump on the brakes. I read somewhere on another forum that the switch can be removed and cleaning the contacts will fix the problem. Will be doing that later this week.
__________________

'04 645cic
'05 GMC Sierra SLT Z71 CCSB 4x4
'00 740i Sport
slemmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 06:39 PM   #9
Swerve
///Maquina
 
Swerve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 642
i've seen that obc code 3 times in the past 2 years. One day, maybe I'll change it.
__________________
95 Madeiraviolett/Dove Grey 325is


///M3 body | Painted kidneys | Hartge spoiler | DJ Autos+DDM HID, DRL delete, clears
Hartge Nova 3+Kumho Ecsta SPT / Hamann HM2+Kumho Ecsta ASX | Bilstein Sports, H&R Sports, KMAC plates, RE RSMs, Racing Dynamics sways, M3 RTABs | M3 Front Brakes
M3 Exhaust | Autothority chip | Cosmos v2+K&N | NGK Iridiums | E46 M knob | clutchstop | woodgrain delete | /////ALPINE, PPI, MB Quart
Swerve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 08:56 PM   #10
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swerve View Post
i've seen that obc code 3 times in the past 2 years. One day, maybe I'll change it.
yea, it's probably on it's way out. You should probably change it, you dont' want someone to rear end you because your brake lights don't work.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 04:20 AM   #11
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,817
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
uhh.

i've fixed this in like 10 e36's. its never been the brake light switch or whatever you're talking about.

its almost always contacts between bulb/socket or socket/taillight.

use sandpaper.

/out
__________________
I run a canadian led kit & hid kit company, if you have any questions about led headlights or hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
Fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black, ohlins, pazzo, graves
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 11:08 PM   #12
archrival
E36 Addict
 
archrival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norwood, Ontario
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by propr'one View Post
uhh.

i've fixed this in like 10 e36's. its never been the brake light switch or whatever you're talking about.

its almost always contacts between bulb/socket or socket/taillight.

use sandpaper.

/out

did that a few weeks ago and i still have the stupid code
archrival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 12:24 AM   #13
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,817
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
Could be the sensor julian's talking about. I'm just saying, in my experience, that's not what it "usually" is.
__________________
I run a canadian led kit & hid kit company, if you have any questions about led headlights or hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
Fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black, ohlins, pazzo, graves
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 07:59 AM   #14
A.K.A. Blackout
BLACKOUT
 
A.K.A. Blackout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milton
Posts: 1,073
I actually had this on my car, and on my dad's car, both E36's. It is the brake switch that is attached to the brake pedal, and it cost about $30 from the dealer. Replace it and your error should go away. It is an easy do it yourself.
__________________
A.K.A. Blackout
A.K.A. Blackout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 10:19 AM   #15
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stance
Posts: 12,929
Ivan, do all of those cars have cheap aftermarket tails or something? Or do you think it's just because of all the salt issues we have here?

I remember researching it on Bf.c, and like 90% of the answers were brake switch.
__________________

@stancejay
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015