Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2006, 08:23 AM   #16
BMWFORLIFE
Technoviolet Shifting
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Woodbridge
Posts: 1,022
its because you needed to uprgrade the fuses appartly, also the grey wire isn't a ground wire....its for the insert thingy in the headlight that can take a bulb....the grey wire powers that up...so no need to ground anything..kind of wierd that it doesn't have a ground but u know..
__________________
BEEEEEEEE EMMMMMMMM DOUBLEUUUU
BMWFORLIFE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 11:25 AM   #17
jboy_328
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: toronto
Posts: 94
hey guys,

I finally got my depo's in, the reason i had problems is that i had to attach my corners first, cuase i broke them, i'm gonna try and get a new set.
Either way, they are in now, and they look great, still gotta adjust the beam to lower them

So far my angel eyes are having no problems. i used alot of silicone and made really strong connections.
jboy_328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 11:32 AM   #18
Andy E34
Registered User
 
Andy E34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bowmanville, Ontario
Posts: 185
Send a message via MSN to Andy E34
Grounding

FWIW,
my experience on E34's and E36's is that the grounds are bundled to a number of central tie points throughout the car. for instance on my E34 the was a well populated gound point under the back seat. I believe this is done because there are so many panels etc. that are isolated from the ground of the car due to rubber isolation pads between body parts and accessories.
So there are in fact ground reference wires at the headlight and marker lights harness wire sets but instaed of directly connecting to a nearby metal surface (as other manufacturers do) the are carried by the harness back to central points and grounded at one of the central grounding locations.
As for the gray wire from the Depo harness set, yes that is for a 12v (not ground) connection to the city lights socket that is located in the high beam at the bottom of the reflector. So no harm is done by grounding it(the extra gray wire) except if you want to use the citylight bulb socket which would then have ground on both bulb contacts
just my 2 cents
Andy E34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 11:47 AM   #19
M3ti Compact
Fuel Efficient 318 Member
 
M3ti Compact's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,465
Brown is the ground wire!

Anyways, I don't know if it's pure coincidence, but the foglight fuse blew the day after installing the depos...I replaced the fuse with one of the same amperage, and so far no other problems.
__________________
M3ti Compact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 12:33 PM   #20
BennyL
7th Gear Member
 
BennyL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,652
whoo, good to know there are no major problems after all!

I can't wait to install mine as soon as the Osram bulbs are in!
__________________

My Ride: E36 318 Convertible - Black Ext. Peanutbutter Int.
BennyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 01:40 PM   #21
Andy E34
Registered User
 
Andy E34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bowmanville, Ontario
Posts: 185
Send a message via MSN to Andy E34
Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyL
whoo, good to know there are no major problems after all!

I can't wait to install mine as soon as the Osram bulbs are in!
Yes...when the Osrams are in ...no pressure Benny
Andy E34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 08:59 PM   #22
Nascar318is
6th Gear Member
 
Nascar318is's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmer318ti

but it comes with 4.. anyone need 2 ?
I might take 2...let me know a price. I only need one for know. Wich 2 are you selling the ones that came with your depo's?
__________________

1994 318is-Sold July 13th 2010.. Sad Sad Day
Nascar318is is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.