Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > Audio/Sound
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2005, 12:18 AM   #1
Kithegearhead
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T.
Posts: 90
Alternator noise

I got a problem and it is driving me nut for the last week and a half. I have noise in my stereo when i play it loud, it sounds a lot like alternator feedback. Now i went ahead and got a rebuilt one, but the noise stayed. ground on the motor is good. I am lost and don;t know where to look. Anybody had this problem before, mayby u can tell me a name of the shop that can figure this out or point me in the right direction. Stereo is stock.
__________________
"Want more and more and more and more and more power ahahahahahahahahaha"
Kithegearhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 01:52 PM   #2
paul christians
87325is///MR.EVIL
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ajax
Posts: 7,751
it is a bad ground in the alternater
__________________
87is325///2.7L..EVIL.....
03 beige GRAND AM and 94 white (slamed) PROTEGE

Last edited by paul christians; 04-13-2005 at 01:55 PM.
paul christians is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 10:51 PM   #3
Striker
Turbo Ready
 
Striker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kithegearhead
I got a problem and it is driving me nut for the last week and a half. I have noise in my stereo when i play it loud, it sounds a lot like alternator feedback. Now i went ahead and got a rebuilt one, but the noise stayed. ground on the motor is good. I am lost and don;t know where to look. Anybody had this problem before, mayby u can tell me a name of the shop that can figure this out or point me in the right direction. Stereo is stock.
Don't know if it's still available but you can install a noise supressor. It's bascially a capacitor and diode and is a quick fix filtering DC. An electronic techie can help you with the cap values if you cant find the supressor kit, I can't remember.
__________________


SPEED AND POWER IS NOTHING WITHOUT CONTROL,
THANK HITLER, BMW HAS ALL THREE
Striker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 11:35 PM   #4
Kithegearhead
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T.
Posts: 90
That diode idea is not bad. Thanx.
__________________
"Want more and more and more and more and more power ahahahahahahahahaha"
Kithegearhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 12:06 AM   #5
Striker
Turbo Ready
 
Striker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kithegearhead
That diode idea is not bad. Thanx.
true, but the capacitor filters all your voltage spikes generated from the alternator which causes the noise.
__________________


SPEED AND POWER IS NOTHING WITHOUT CONTROL,
THANK HITLER, BMW HAS ALL THREE
Striker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 12:10 AM   #6
Kithegearhead
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T.
Posts: 90
U forcing me to hit the books to get to the truth ;o). Thanks for the advice u seen to know what u talking about.
__________________
"Want more and more and more and more and more power ahahahahahahahahaha"
Kithegearhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 08:51 AM   #7
Striker
Turbo Ready
 
Striker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kithegearhead
U forcing me to hit the books to get to the truth ;o). Thanks for the advice u seen to know what u talking about.
I hope, I am an old school electronic techie
__________________


SPEED AND POWER IS NOTHING WITHOUT CONTROL,
THANK HITLER, BMW HAS ALL THREE
Striker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 11:12 AM   #8
suicide
on my 3rd 3-series ;-)
 
suicide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 1,804
Send a message via ICQ to suicide Send a message via MSN to suicide
Umm not sure if i am 100% correct but last time I came accross this problem I asked around and many shops/online forums suggest a "Ground LooP' i think.. basicly loops the signal and filters the noise out.. cheap fix under 25 bux.. but don't hold me to this i never bought the part becuase I sold my e36 and went right to performance e30 so meh.. good luck hope this helped.
__________________
suicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 07:56 PM   #9
paul christians
87325is///MR.EVIL
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ajax
Posts: 7,751
do not like them (ground loops). Take it back to the shop you got it at.........
__________________
87is325///2.7L..EVIL.....
03 beige GRAND AM and 94 white (slamed) PROTEGE
paul christians is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 12:37 PM   #10
Axxe
Over 9 F**KING THOUSAND!!
 
Axxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 9,768
They have noise surpressor kits at Canadian Tire. Luckily my Alpine deck came with it standard
__________________

S52|ZF|TRM Coilovers 670/895|Staggered 18" 5's
Axxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 05:34 PM   #11
Kithegearhead
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T.
Posts: 90
Original BMW deck is Alpine and i assumed that it had the noise suppressor but it is quite possible that it doesn't so I am going to look into the caps and diodes and see if that help.
__________________
"Want more and more and more and more and more power ahahahahahahahahaha"
Kithegearhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 11:04 PM   #12
Pawel_11_11
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Woodstock Ontario
Posts: 106
ya man, its for sure the prob with your amp. not the alternator...a ground loop will work, what kind of amp are you running....it can't a DE style amp right? (digitial) most digital amps have built in ground loops or noice suppressors. basically you need to either get an external ground loop or change your amp...sometime...RARELY, if you run your RCA beside the power wire that runs from your trunk to the engine, you can pick up some frequencies from that, but once again, if your using good RCAs this shouldn't happen...
Pawel_11_11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 06:08 PM   #13
spooner_dee
Has no idea whats goin on
 
spooner_dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,948
Send a message via AIM to spooner_dee
Yeah if your rca wires are running side by side with your power wire, thats the feedback noise your picking up. like if you step on the gas you hear it whined up and sounds like a high pitch hum.... if thats what your gettin, simply relocate your RCA wires. I used to have that problem a few years back, moved the RCAs and bam no more feedback
__________________

As I was walking up the stairs, I met a man who wasn't there. He wasn't there again today, I wish I wish he'd go away.
spooner_dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 10:34 AM   #14
DIRTY SIXER
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SCARBOROUGH
Posts: 26
rule of thumb...

always route the signal wires( rca, speaker, changer, etc) away from main power wires, the bmw stock power wire for the rear battery is on the passenger side.

if anyone would like to do stereo work themselves, just keep that in mind.
this way you would avoid any noise issues that could be from wiring.
DIRTY SIXER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.