Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2004, 07:33 PM   #1
christian
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: arizona
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to christian
speedometer

the other day my speedometer stopped working completely. every once in a while it will bounce a little but it wont read i checked the sensor on the differential and there is no power getting to it i dont know what is wrong any suggestions ? p.s. the car is an 84' 318i thanx in avanced
christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 08:15 PM   #2
Jase
twisted beyond reason
 
Jase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatham
Posts: 3,281
Send a message via MSN to Jase
When my gauges stopped working it was the batteries in the cluster itself. they usually die after 10-15 years
__________________
Jase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 09:28 PM   #3
BladeRunner
4th Gear Member
 
BladeRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: some terrestrial planet
Posts: 662
aahhhhhhh good old '84 318 up to their old tricks again...
__________________
Mad E30 lover
BladeRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 01:46 AM   #4
snd84318i
3rd Gear Member
 
snd84318i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: nyc
Posts: 378
so if change the batteries it should start working ? everything else works just not the speedo?
__________________
snd84318i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 02:29 AM   #5
niko_gt
6th Gear Member
 
niko_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 2,206
if the odometer isnt adding up, dont worry bout it
just estimate your speed
__________________
niko_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 03:23 AM   #6
christian
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: arizona
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to christian
yeah its just the speedo everything else works, i think its effecting the mpg gauge and the odometer because the mpg gauge moves around all the time for no reason and the odometer hasn't changed milage thanx for the feedback.
christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 03:29 AM   #7
christian
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: arizona
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to christian
hey i have another question, iv read my manual but it dosn't tell were the batteries are located or what type they are wondering if any one can help me thanx
christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 04:54 AM   #8
///m powered
dodging pylons
 
///m powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sacramento ,California
Posts: 3,261
Send a message via AIM to ///m powered Send a message via MSN to ///m powered
how about this one.........

my speedo works always,
my gas gauge only has the light come on when its empty
my temp works once it gets to midway point
and my tach works when it feels like it

good old 84 318i!

edit: my odometer stopped about 5 years ago too
__________________
///m powered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 02:14 PM   #9
Lil'Smoothie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
if it was just a blown fuse than you would most likely have more than one thing out rite now, ont just the speedo/odometer

It may just be a bad connection if it is only your speedo that is out
pop the cluster out and check for a loose connection
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 02:53 PM   #10
christian
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: arizona
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to christian
i looked at all the connections and didnt find anything loose so i thought maybe the wire was cut i was just going to run a new wire but there are two wires of the sensor and only one on the speedo.
christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 12:00 AM   #11
BladeRunner
4th Gear Member
 
BladeRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: some terrestrial planet
Posts: 662
christian while your back there you might want change out your bulbs for new ones, save you time later.

what kind of battery is this? can i get it from BMW dealers? bulbs too? some of you might his of the dealer question as stupid but dealers don't keep up with the old stuff after a while.

oh yeah my odometer is dead too; is this fixable?
__________________
Mad E30 lover

Last edited by BladeRunner; 02-04-2004 at 12:08 AM.
BladeRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 04:25 PM   #12
BladeRunner
4th Gear Member
 
BladeRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: some terrestrial planet
Posts: 662
went to a BMW dealer near me hopping to get a batteries for my cluster. Told me batteries and board come together not seperate. Price $200.60? This board better be new or very important for $200, since I must pay out of my pocket....
__________________
Mad E30 lover
BladeRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 01:42 AM   #13
BladeRunner
4th Gear Member
 
BladeRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: some terrestrial planet
Posts: 662
oh yeah forgot to add the board may not be nessary if the rest of your gauges work, there is a follow through method to fix this problem...
__________________
Mad E30 lover
BladeRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 09:41 PM   #14
///Mr.T
2nd Gear Member
 
///Mr.T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville Ontario
Posts: 162
Dont buy a new board, and you dont need new batteries either.

Check out this article I had the exact same problem, and tried re-soldering the speedo. It wasnt hard to do at all, and has worked fine for 3 years!
__________________
Axis Springs
HK2 Intake
500 watt Legacy amp
Two 10 inch JLA's in the trunk
///Mr.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 05:46 AM   #15
Albertae30
3rd Gear Member
 
Albertae30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Red Deer - Alberta
Posts: 430
just had this prob last month everything in my car worked fine then my speedo started going crazy turns out my alternator was fried got a new one and walla
__________________
1995 VOLVO 850 Turbo
1986 Chev Camaro Z28 running 250 horse with just a stock motor and open air filter carbed.
allcanadianreject84@hotmail.com
Albertae30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.