Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2003, 01:21 AM   #1
elraton16
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: potomac, MD/ Mosport,CND
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to elraton16
HELP! auto thority chip threw in the towel!

all i can say is that the chip in the car is burned out. or this is what the tech at bmw told me where i work at. he said the chip he put in the car a while back was an auto thority chip and it probably doesnt work anymore. my car will not rev past 4k rpms. its so frustrating. i cant go fast than 60 mph either! WHAT THE FUK. ive been trying to tell him to replace the chip with a stock chip and he says he will but he keeps forgeting. that fuk's dick, im so mad man, i just want my car to run smoothly and have all the power it has. after all this car is no ordinary 325is and it hauls ass.......
__________________
Visit DTMPowerracing.com
Carlos@dtmpowerracing.com
elraton16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 02:16 AM   #2
jordan325
3rd Gear Member
 
jordan325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 333
wow thats crazy, is he sure it's the chip? I work for Bimmer Motorsports, I can get you a pro formance chip from germany for a deal, about 150 bucks.


Maybe try and see if there is a waranty as well, borrow a stock chi in the meantime or something..
__________________
e46 323i | iService - Kingston iPhone Repair - We fix Macs!
jordan325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 02:15 PM   #3
djcontra
Gets Blown Daily
 
djcontra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scarghetto
Posts: 6,129
Send a message via ICQ to djcontra Send a message via MSN to djcontra Send a message via Yahoo to djcontra
I'd probably blame the ECU before I blame the chip; the chip is an eeprom, and they're not the kind of items that burn up very easily. If the guy reaplces it, tell him you want to keep the old one.
__________________

'94 Supercharged E36 325is (150,000 original km's)
Mods
-Vortech V9 G-Trim @ ~10psi w/ BOV
-Shortstack headers
-Vortech RRFPR
-255LPH Walbro fuel pump
-TEIN SS Coilovers w/ Pillowball mounts
-Keskin KT1 17x8.5 & 17x10
-Remus full catback
-Authentic Rieger Infinity I body kit
-SMT6 EMS (Untuned)

djcontra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 04:05 PM   #4
///Greco540
4th Gear Member
 
///Greco540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 766
Sounds like your ECU is in limp mode, kind of a self-protect until you can get it to the dealer program. Something must have happened, did you get a check engine light?
__________________
//Greco540
'98 (04/98) 540i/6 Biarritz Blue / Sand Beige
Options: 17" Style 32 Staggered / Sport Seats / Xenons / Sport Suspension / 6 Speed / Cold weather Pkg
Mods: M5 Grill, CDV, AE Xenons, Rogue Engineering Octane Short Shifter w/ WSR, Rogue Engineering Performance Transmission Mounts, Royal Purple Synchromax Transmission Fluid, Gruppe M Filter Ram Charger


My Car Site
///Greco540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 06:23 PM   #5
elraton16
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: potomac, MD/ Mosport,CND
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to elraton16
this whole thing is messed up, i have 2 computers in my car and we plug both in and neither work. is it the chip still? cuz both computers would have a different chip in it right? im just really frustrated right now and want my car running again.
__________________
Visit DTMPowerracing.com
Carlos@dtmpowerracing.com
elraton16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 06:25 PM   #6
elraton16
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: potomac, MD/ Mosport,CND
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to elraton16
sorry

no i didnt get a check engine light but what exactly is a limp mode?


jordan325: thanx for the offer but right now im strapped. im saving up for a roll cage, seats, belts and a steering wheel. i have no money to throw around........although i should to replace the chip
__________________
Visit DTMPowerracing.com
Carlos@dtmpowerracing.com
elraton16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 08:21 PM   #7
jordan325
3rd Gear Member
 
jordan325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 333
hey man,

if you swapped 2 ECUs with different chips, its not the ECU.

It's gotta be something else, have you checked your AFM?

There's a number fo things that could cause your car to run like this.
__________________
e46 323i | iService - Kingston iPhone Repair - We fix Macs!
jordan325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 08:23 PM   #8
jordan325
3rd Gear Member
 
jordan325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 333
Also check your air filter, something simple but a restricted one could give you some major problems.
__________________
e46 323i | iService - Kingston iPhone Repair - We fix Macs!
jordan325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 09:16 PM   #9
elraton16
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: potomac, MD/ Mosport,CND
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to elraton16
yeah but the thing is, is that its not as if its restricted. around 3k rpms or so the engine just feels as if it chokes. as if the main relay releases and then re-attaches. it feels exactly as if you floor it, and then really fast let go and then floor it again but like 5 times in a row if you keep accelerating while the problem is taking place. im lost and its as if i have no hope because i dont know what to do about it.
__________________
Visit DTMPowerracing.com
Carlos@dtmpowerracing.com
elraton16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.