Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2003, 03:40 AM   #1
Furious
BMW again.
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,088
LOL- gauge problem

well not minutes after reading jeremys problem , i got one, what happens is the gauge cluster sometimes shuts down, no gas , kilometers, rpm, temp, or odometer, but all other lights work, then by itself they come on , then later will go off, then on , then off, so on and so forth. what the hell could be doing this>? thanks guys.
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 03:50 AM   #2
jeremy
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,351
sounds like we're both fuked
jeremy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 03:59 AM   #3
Furious
BMW again.
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,088
yup
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 04:17 AM   #4
Darren
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 45
i just joined the club......all my gauges are dead except for the speedometer. I'm going to be taking out the instrument cluster again (1st time was to install white gauges) this weekend. I suspect either the metal contact is dirty or one of those colored plug units at the back (i think there are 4) of the cluster are loose.
I'll keep y'all posted.
Darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 08:45 PM   #5
djcontra
Gets Blown Daily
 
djcontra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scarghetto
Posts: 6,129
Send a message via ICQ to djcontra Send a message via MSN to djcontra Send a message via Yahoo to djcontra
If you're sure it's not a fuse or a loose/broken wire/connection then take it apart and look for blown capacitors, resistors, or even solder connections that may have come undone.
Any electronics repair shop can fix it, or if you're in the area, I could fix it.
__________________

'94 Supercharged E36 325is (150,000 original km's)
Mods
-Vortech V9 G-Trim @ ~10psi w/ BOV
-Shortstack headers
-Vortech RRFPR
-255LPH Walbro fuel pump
-TEIN SS Coilovers w/ Pillowball mounts
-Keskin KT1 17x8.5 & 17x10
-Remus full catback
-Authentic Rieger Infinity I body kit
-SMT6 EMS (Untuned)

djcontra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 10:40 PM   #6
Furious
BMW again.
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,088
DJ you hit the nail on the head. i think its a blown cap. i pulled the assembly apart and no problems on the surface as far as sodder goes. the fuses were all changed. checked the connections for bent or corroded pins. can anyone recommend a place to take the gauges to? i dont really wanna try to attempt this electrical problem on my own.
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 10:43 PM   #7
djcontra
Gets Blown Daily
 
djcontra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scarghetto
Posts: 6,129
Send a message via ICQ to djcontra Send a message via MSN to djcontra Send a message via Yahoo to djcontra
Bring it to your local electronics repair shop, and let them give you an estimate. Tell them not to do any work until they're sure they can fix it and discuss a price with you first.
__________________

'94 Supercharged E36 325is (150,000 original km's)
Mods
-Vortech V9 G-Trim @ ~10psi w/ BOV
-Shortstack headers
-Vortech RRFPR
-255LPH Walbro fuel pump
-TEIN SS Coilovers w/ Pillowball mounts
-Keskin KT1 17x8.5 & 17x10
-Remus full catback
-Authentic Rieger Infinity I body kit
-SMT6 EMS (Untuned)

djcontra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 12:42 PM   #8
Furious
BMW again.
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,088
thanks again guys, if this fails ill have to buy a new instrument unit, does anyone know how or If its tottally nessecary to decode it to make it work?
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 01:16 PM   #9
djcontra
Gets Blown Daily
 
djcontra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scarghetto
Posts: 6,129
Send a message via ICQ to djcontra Send a message via MSN to djcontra Send a message via Yahoo to djcontra
I've seen many clusters for sale cheap on ebay and at wrecking yards. i think the only downside to swapping a new one in is that it'll display the previous car's milage.
You'll need to get that reprogrammed by the dealer (which probably costs a lot )
__________________

'94 Supercharged E36 325is (150,000 original km's)
Mods
-Vortech V9 G-Trim @ ~10psi w/ BOV
-Shortstack headers
-Vortech RRFPR
-255LPH Walbro fuel pump
-TEIN SS Coilovers w/ Pillowball mounts
-Keskin KT1 17x8.5 & 17x10
-Remus full catback
-Authentic Rieger Infinity I body kit
-SMT6 EMS (Untuned)

djcontra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 05:50 PM   #10
Furious
BMW again.
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,088
actually im not sure if you have to decode our displays, either way i can deal with lower mileage , if i decide to go with an ebay cluster should i get some white faced gauges to keep the look of kilometers instead of miles? (i assume they will work exactly the same right? or is the US version set up different than ours? (if that last question doesnt make sense tell me) hahaha
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.