Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2013, 11:56 PM   #1
<3MyE36
-Richy Nevaless-
 
<3MyE36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 174
HELP! E36 Problem

Hello, Everyone my brother just bought a 97' 328i (AUTOMATIC) with 127,000 kms, BUT We have a major problem, The TRANSMISSION WILL NOT SELECT ANY GEARS Does anyone know what the problem could be or provide some possibilities? Could it be a transmission problem? Shifter Cable or The Gear Selector itself? ANY help would be greatly appreciated. After this all we have to do is replace the Head gasket which we already know how to do because we did mine. THANKS !
<3MyE36 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 11:57 PM   #2
<3MyE36
-Richy Nevaless-
 
<3MyE36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 174
I Should also add that at one point we got it to briefly go into drive and it did drive but now it will not select any gears at all.
<3MyE36 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:06 AM   #3
Eurostyle
MaXsponsor
 
Eurostyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milton
Posts: 15,067
I think you already know ALL the possibilities!!! Nobody can tell you more without seeing the car, so just start checking things one by one!!! Start with the shifter, make sure cable is doing the right job, move the selector by hand (at the transmission) and see if that helps. IF not, need a new trans.
__________________
BIMMER HEAVEN
Specialized in BMW recycling, all OEM used parts
Up to 90% off new cost!!!
Most models E30 E36 E46 E90 E92 E93 E34 E39 E60 E32 E38 E65 E66 X3 X5 M3 M5 Z4


Etobicoke location opening SOON!!!!

Call 11-8PM 416 821-2578
New inventory daily. 50+ cars in stock!
Eurostyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:20 AM   #4
<3MyE36
-Richy Nevaless-
 
<3MyE36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 174
Thanks, I will do that, let's say I have a working Transmission from another E36 (which is a 325i) would I be able to use that on the 328i? it is also automatic by the way.
<3MyE36 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:20 AM   #5
E36is
'OldSchool..'
 
E36is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Burlington
Posts: 2,406
key in? brake pedal pressed? some transmissions cannot be moved until either or both of those things are done.
__________________
'You don't buy all that jewellery and stick it on an ugly person.'
E36is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:23 AM   #6
<3MyE36
-Richy Nevaless-
 
<3MyE36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by E36is View Post
key in? brake pedal pressed? some transmissions cannot be moved until either or both of those things are done.
We did have the key in and the brake pedal pressed, when we moved it we had to keep the selector in gear 3 instead of drive because that was the only way to get it to work, but now that we have it in the garage it won't go back into park and we can't get the key out of the ignition.
<3MyE36 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:30 AM   #7
E36is
'OldSchool..'
 
E36is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Burlington
Posts: 2,406


maybe this will help you find your solution?
__________________
'You don't buy all that jewellery and stick it on an ugly person.'
E36is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:40 AM   #8
Eurostyle
MaXsponsor
 
Eurostyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milton
Posts: 15,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by <3MyE36 View Post
Thanks, I will do that, let's say I have a working Transmission from another E36 (which is a 325i) would I be able to use that on the 328i? it is also automatic by the way.
No, 325 wont plug in...Even the other 328's wont fit, as they had about 3 different auto transmissions from 96 to 98...Be VERY careful what you buy!
__________________
BIMMER HEAVEN
Specialized in BMW recycling, all OEM used parts
Up to 90% off new cost!!!
Most models E30 E36 E46 E90 E92 E93 E34 E39 E60 E32 E38 E65 E66 X3 X5 M3 M5 Z4


Etobicoke location opening SOON!!!!

Call 11-8PM 416 821-2578
New inventory daily. 50+ cars in stock!
Eurostyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:43 AM   #9
Eurostyle
MaXsponsor
 
Eurostyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milton
Posts: 15,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by <3MyE36 View Post
We did have the key in and the brake pedal pressed, when we moved it we had to keep the selector in gear 3 instead of drive because that was the only way to get it to work, but now that we have it in the garage it won't go back into park and we can't get the key out of the ignition.
Something is wrong with the cable/selector for sure!!! Not the trans. Start checking that first!
__________________
BIMMER HEAVEN
Specialized in BMW recycling, all OEM used parts
Up to 90% off new cost!!!
Most models E30 E36 E46 E90 E92 E93 E34 E39 E60 E32 E38 E65 E66 X3 X5 M3 M5 Z4


Etobicoke location opening SOON!!!!

Call 11-8PM 416 821-2578
New inventory daily. 50+ cars in stock!
Eurostyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:43 AM   #10
MANDD
Autobahn East
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ajax
Posts: 264
Was the shift lever very difficult to move into RNDL? If so you will need the following....

BMW 25 16 1 423 114 control cable

BMW 24 50 0 429 180 cable clamp - (this may break upon removal)

Mark.
MANDD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 01:03 AM   #11
<3MyE36
-Richy Nevaless-
 
<3MyE36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by MANDD View Post
Was the shift lever very difficult to move into RNDL? If so you will need the following....

BMW 25 16 1 423 114 control cable

BMW 24 50 0 429 180 cable clamp - (this may break upon removal)

Mark.
Yes it was hard to shift it into RNDL and hard aswell to get it back to Park which its still not in so we just left the key in the off position because we couldn't get it out and disconnected the battery. Thanks a lot I really do appreciate everyone's input my brother and I will try this out tomorrow and let you know how it goes.
<3MyE36 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 01:06 AM   #12
<3MyE36
-Richy Nevaless-
 
<3MyE36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eurostyle View Post
Something is wrong with the cable/selector for sure!!! Not the trans. Start checking that first!
I'm praying that you are right, because if you are* we'll be some really happy campers. We will try fixing those problem areas suggested and let everyone know. Thanks again though *sigh of relief*

Last edited by <3MyE36; 08-31-2013 at 01:20 AM.
<3MyE36 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:45 PM   #13
<3MyE36
-Richy Nevaless-
 
<3MyE36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 174
So after some fiddling around we got the shifter cable out and it was completely broken and corroded, and we could move the selector under the car and it clicks into gear now thanks everyone !!!
<3MyE36 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 08:57 PM   #14
<3MyE36
-Richy Nevaless-
 
<3MyE36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 174
UPDATE! : So my brother and I replaced the the shifter cable with a brand new one from the dealer ($165) BUT!, it is very Stiff and difficult to shift into gears it will go into Park, Reverse, Neutral but barely into Drive, 3,2, & 1 also the gear shifter won't click into place, although we did test to see if the the Tranny was good and it is. While we were at it we re-did all the brake lines, bled them and now there is brake resistance (the lines were all leaking), if anyone could HELP it would be greatly appreciated!
<3MyE36 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 10:13 PM   #15
MANDD
Autobahn East
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ajax
Posts: 264
Did you replace the cable clamp (BMW 24 50 0 429 180), it may be seized. This part should be free to rotate after the cable is clamped down.

Mark.
MANDD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diy, gears, need help, problem, transmission

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014