Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2013, 02:45 PM   #91
Woofer
6th Gear Member
 
Woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,232
Sorry, I meant to say the brown m20 coolant temperature sender.

After looking at some write ups, I realize that my m52 obd2 head will not accept the m20 coolant sender. My options are to rethread the sender to the proper size or buy one that is made to fit from the link below.

"You will need to use an e30 brown top coolant temp sensor for the cluster reading. This will replace the pipe that screws into the head for the throttle body coolant line. You have three options here
Option 1 (what I did): Use a die and change the pitch of the threads to match the s52 head threads. The pitch was m12x1.5 (could be wrong, double check)
Option 2 (more risky IMO): Tap the head to match the sensor threads.
Option 3 (expensive, but easy if you don't have the tools: Buy a already rethreaded brown top coolant sensor from Markert motorwerks. http://www.markertmotorworks.com/MMWProducts.html"

Full write up here
http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=266738
__________________
Woofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 12:33 PM   #92
cormier
6th Gear Member
 
cormier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 1,565
So what's the verdict then ?
__________________

cormier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 01:58 PM   #93
karmatose
164.3ci Of Fury
 
karmatose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London
Posts: 364
I'd go option 3 because I'm lazy.
__________________
"She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts, kid. I've made a lot of special modifications myself. " - Han Solo
karmatose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 04:42 PM   #94
Woofer
6th Gear Member
 
Woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,232
^^Lol I thought about option 3, but didn't want to wait.

I went with option one. I rethreaded the sensor. On my way to the shop to install it. Hopefully get everything else all hooked up and fool around with the tranny a bit. I think I installed the bracket wrong. I am using the stock m20 tranny, g260 I believe. I have a bracket that's suppose to correct the angle/tilt that its on when mated to a 24v motor. Hopefully she's on the road this weekend.
__________________
Woofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 09:14 PM   #95
karmatose
164.3ci Of Fury
 
karmatose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London
Posts: 364
I'm no swap expert, but I surf the interwebz a lot. I believe the raised part of the brace goes on the left hand side of the car. It really looks like it can only go in one way.
__________________
"She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts, kid. I've made a lot of special modifications myself. " - Han Solo
karmatose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:47 PM   #96
Woofer
6th Gear Member
 
Woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,232
^^ thanks for your input.

I did have the brace on properly te first time. I guess my biggest problem was trying to use my steel shifter carrier bracket. I ended up using a later style e30 aluminum carrier and now it lines up perfectly.

I also ended up rethreading the coolant Sender and now I should be getting a reading to the cluster

The whole drivetrain is in and now it's plug and play from here.

I can finally see some light at the end of the tunnel lol!
__________________
Woofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:59 PM   #97
Woofer
6th Gear Member
 
Woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,232
Also finally got around to the brakes.
New calipers, rotors, pads and SS lines.




Lots more parts to go on. Hoping to fire it up this week.

Stay tuned! Lol
__________________
Woofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 01:23 PM   #98
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,683
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
are we racing for slips?
__________________
d1s bulb canada

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
hid headlights hid kit
propr'one is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 01:34 PM   #99
Woofer
6th Gear Member
 
Woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,232
Lmao. Depends, if you want to lose tht cute roadster of yours!!
__________________
Woofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:22 PM   #100
cormier
6th Gear Member
 
cormier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 1,565
What beautiful brakes. Enjoy them while they last
__________________

cormier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 03:16 PM   #101
Woofer
6th Gear Member
 
Woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,232
And she breathes!!!! Sounds crazy straight off the headers. Ill see if I can post a vid later.

Just a few thing left before she's on the ground.
-e34 m50 throttle cable
-bleed brakes and clutch
-mount my remote brake res. (any suggestions? I read the the 2002 tii brake res is the best option. Trying to use my e34 540 remote res. just can't find a spot to mount it really. Can anyone confirm if the Brake res is suppose to be above the master cylinder? I am assuming it is suppose to be above because it needs to drain into the master cylinder. If not, I can mount it just under the intake boot.
-change my valve cover gaskets and paint valve cover
-spark plugs
-install exhaust and get a down pipe made
-clean up wiring and get e30 318/m3 beauty covers ( anybody have any laying around lol?
-new m50 valve beauty covers
-install vaders maybe even install the rear e36 m3 bench.
-put front end back together

I'm sure there are a few more things but I'd like to get the above finished before the end of this week.

A few pics

Before


After




Also, does anyone have the chrome rings that go around the e30 headlights?

Thanks
__________________
Woofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 07:14 PM   #102
Slowered318
Powered by Budgies
 
Slowered318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,962
Nice work!

I should be on the road this weekend too.
__________________
The major difference between my 318is and an e30 M3 is that the noises come from the engine and not the passengers
Slowered318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 08:35 PM   #103
thomase30
1st Gear Newbie
 
thomase30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: woodbridge
Posts: 41
Yeah the res has to be above the master it feeds fluid by gravity and will leak out the cap
thomase30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 03:53 PM   #104
cormier
6th Gear Member
 
cormier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 1,565
I have one of those tii reservoirs if you need it. Ya mounting is a pain. I used an ix brake res that has a clutch fluid bung off it. Congrats on gettin this far dude!
__________________

cormier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:40 PM   #105
Woofer
6th Gear Member
 
Woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomase30 View Post
Yeah the res has to be above the master it feeds fluid by gravity and will leak out the cap
Thanks man. I figured it was gravity fed. I did a little searching on google and found some info tht helped me out.

I ended up using a 540 remote res. I had to cut the lower part of the res into a half moon shape. Which happen to sit perfectly on one of te groves that the brake booster had. I left enough material on the res so I could drill a hole and use a nut and bolt to secure it to a bracket that comes up from the master cylinder bolts and curves nicely over the brake booster right to the grove where the res sits.
Ill post up some pics when I get a chance.
__________________
Woofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.