Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E46 (1998 - 2005)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2012, 10:54 PM   #1
bchickness
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Trenton
Posts: 4
Cell Phone

Just Bought A 2000 323 CI Convertible,It Has A Phone Icon On The Steering Wheel And A Red Dome On The Bottom Of the Rear View Mirror,Any Ideas What Else In Needed?
bchickness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 01:09 AM   #2
blakneto
3rd Gear Member
 
blakneto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hamilton/Brampton/Toronto
Posts: 320
need to have a module installed so you can use BLUETOOTH via the steer wheel...
Get the DICE media bridge. look it up on google for e46 cars... its pretty popular.
Youtube has videos on how to install it too.
blakneto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:30 AM   #3
Deep 3.2TL
6th Gear Member
 
Deep 3.2TL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Milton
Posts: 3,224
Red dome on the mirror has nothing to do with it. That's the security system.
__________________

2007 Z4 3.0si
Deep 3.2TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:33 AM   #4
bchickness
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Trenton
Posts: 4
red dome

Does That Mean There Is A Security System Or Is It added To All?
bchickness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:41 AM   #5
bchickness
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Trenton
Posts: 4
phone

If You Add A New Stereo With Blue Tooth ,Is There One That Will Work BMW Steering Wheel Controls,Or Is Dice The Only Option?
bchickness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:56 AM   #6
Deep 3.2TL
6th Gear Member
 
Deep 3.2TL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Milton
Posts: 3,224
Dont think a new head unit will do it. Need the module or dice.

The clown nose red light is added to all, doesn't mean there is an alarm. After you lock up the car, check it a few minutes later. Is the right light blinking? No? Then no alarm.
__________________

2007 Z4 3.0si
Deep 3.2TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:59 AM   #7
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deep 3.2TL View Post
Dont think a new head unit will do it. Need the module or dice.

The clown nose red light is added to all, doesn't mean there is an alarm. After you lock up the car, check it a few minutes later. Is the right light blinking? No? Then no alarm.
Actually the red light will blink even if there isn't an alarm installed
(kind of a fake alarm)
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 12:11 PM   #8
Deep 3.2TL
6th Gear Member
 
Deep 3.2TL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Milton
Posts: 3,224
Really? Didn't know that!! Thanks
__________________

2007 Z4 3.0si
Deep 3.2TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:03 AM   #9
ac_2007
Cruising in Top Gear
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blades View Post
Actually the red light will blink even if there isn't an alarm installed
(kind of a fake alarm)
Only if the alarm system (DWA) is activated.

For anyone interested, I can program this and also enable your signals to flash when the lock/unlock button is pressed on the key.
__________________
ac_2007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:34 AM   #10
sski
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blades View Post
Actually the red light will blink even if there isn't an alarm installed
(kind of a fake alarm)
I have 2008 323i...it has the red dome but no alarm and does not blink.
__________________
Life is like a sh!t sandwich...the more bread you've got, the less sh!t you have to eat.
sski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 10:46 PM   #11
xlr8nbimbo
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Acton Ontario
Posts: 53
If you have money to burn, the dealer can install the module to get the phone button on the steering wheel to sinc with your phone. It'll cost you close to a grand . If you want to know for sure if the car has alarm, lock it up with your key fob with the windows down and then reach in and unlock the car door from the inside. I'll bet you it will start to scream.
xlr8nbimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.