Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-12-2012, 03:36 PM   #1
NITRO89
Slammed E36
 
NITRO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Etobicoke
Posts: 86
coolant temperature sensor

I was just wondering were the coolant temperature sensor is located
For 328i M52 motor Is it the first sensor underneath the intake manifold.
Thankz
NITRO89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 03:58 PM   #2
The Twin
3rd Gear Member
 
The Twin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ontario
Posts: 555
Coolant expansion tank?
The Twin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 01:28 AM   #3
sb_600
5th Gear Member
 
sb_600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,192
Yup, it's under the intake manifold. The sensor in the rad (which is the one I'm assuming Twin is referring to) is ONLY to control your fan.
__________________
Shawn
1992 BMW 325i (CHUMPCAR #296 - Metric Homes Racing)
1992 3.0L M52 325i (ex-daily driver - track car only)
2002 330Ci (ex-daily driver - sold!)

sb_600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 08:05 AM   #4
gotcurry
3rd Gear Member
 
gotcurry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Twin View Post
Coolant expansion tank?
that's the coolant level sensor
__________________



[| aFe CAI || 3.38 LSD || M50 SWAP || SuperSprint Exhaust || H&R + Bilstein Sports |]
gotcurry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 09:58 AM   #5
cormier
6th Gear Member
 
cormier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: St. George, ON
Posts: 1,605
This is my obd 1 setup. Obd2 has a single, dual purpose sender where the blue one is in the picture

__________________

cormier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:01 AM   #6
The Twin
3rd Gear Member
 
The Twin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ontario
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotcurry View Post
that's the coolant level sensor
Fcplm. I gave level sensor on the brain since mines dead lol
The Twin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 11:23 AM   #7
SiR
Vtec just kicked in
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: TO
Posts: 2,729
yup the obd2 is a dual (single ) sensor.

one output for the gauge and one for the dme.
__________________
-||Old Crayons||-
SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.