Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2012, 01:03 PM   #106
nate_s89
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Windsor
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by sb_600 View Post
So if you don't have your exhaust hooked up yet, where's your O2 sensor?

Could be source of your bad idle?
I have the exhaust hooked up until like 2 inches after the O2 sensor where it is cut off. Welding up the rest of it tomorrow.

Oh and that 1281 code is gone

Last edited by nate_s89; 04-05-2012 at 01:15 PM.
nate_s89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 07:50 AM   #107
voluted
2nd Gear Member
 
voluted's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate_s89 View Post
Once I get a diff I think I will drive it over to BMW and get them to clear it. I realized last night I hooked up the idle controller wrong and put both hoses into the manifold instead of one in the manifold and one in the rubber elbow before the throttle body.

Only thing I am missing now is the hose that goes into the hole at the bottom of the manifold closest to the firewall. Not the idle controller or the Intake Temp Sensor but there is a third hole, any ideas?

That little vacuum hole you speak of (the one close to the firewall/brake booster) is meant for FPR vacuum.
voluted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 03:17 PM   #108
nate_s89
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Windsor
Posts: 332
So almost everything is back together, front end is on, diff is in. I just so happened to find a short shifter in my garage that was leftover from a parts car, don't know what kind it is but it feels excellent. Took the car around the block last weekend and it was running rough, definitely think the timing is off. I am going to time it again tonight and see what happens, fingers crossed.
nate_s89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 08:42 PM   #109
nate_s89
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Windsor
Posts: 332
Got the car running better today, took it for a drive and it pulls nicely. The cause of my problems after timing was bad plugs, which also the caused the 1281 code and a no start. Can't wait to finish it up tomorrow and Saturday and really take it for a rip.
Was thinking I may head to the dyno day and see where its at.
nate_s89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:45 PM   #110
nate_s89
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Windsor
Posts: 332
Well my quest for a well running stroker continues. Still getting rough idle and chugging/hesitation/bucking in the low rpms, but once it hits 3000 it opens right up and pulls well. I have put in new plugs and O2 sensor.
I have an AFR gauge in my car, and after I put the new O2 sensor in, when the car is cranking over, the gauge lights up (between lean and stoich) but when it is idling the gauge is dead, not a single light. I have the sensor reading signal from the gray wire, which according to the bentley manual is the signal wire. (Gray signal, black ground, 2 white for heater).
Anyone have any idea what could be causing this? Its almost as if the O2 sensor isn't sending a signal to the DME. And the only code I am getting is still the 1281.
Another thought is that I don't have the timing perfect...

Last edited by nate_s89; 04-16-2012 at 10:55 PM.
nate_s89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:38 AM   #111
SiR
Vtec just kicked in
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: TO
Posts: 2,728
what kind of a/f gauge?

if its the auto meter dancing light gauge thats useless.
__________________
-||Old Crayons||-
SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:51 AM   #112
nate_s89
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Windsor
Posts: 332
I have narrow and wide. Dont have my wideband bung welded in yet so I cant install it, so I am using the autometer to help diagnose my hesitation issues in the meantime. Apparently I have to tap the black wire not gray. I know its shitty, but it will tell me if I am running lean or rich.
nate_s89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 08:42 PM   #113
nate_s89
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Windsor
Posts: 332
So got the gauge hooked up properly, its running rich. Tested all sensors and they all checked out. Looked over all my vacuum lines and replaced some rubber O rings as well. Car still ran the same, unplugged the MAF, and presto, idled like a dream.

So now I am thinking MAF, anyone have a spare I could try before I drop the cash for a new one?
nate_s89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:49 PM   #114
nate_s89
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Windsor
Posts: 332
Today was a success. Car is now running well and I took it for the first real drive. Feels pretty good so far, but definitely running a bit lean. Also started to get a little hot when driving so I think I need to bleed the coolant system some more.





nate_s89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:04 PM   #115
ScotcH
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,867
the **** are those wheels/tires? Are those like 255/60/17s or something?? They look super tall.
__________________
2007 BMW 328Xi Touring, 6 speed
ScotcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:00 PM   #116
nate_s89
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Windsor
Posts: 332
Haha yes they do. They are 245/45 and 225/45. But they were so ridiculously cheap for brand new tires I bought them anyway.
nate_s89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:42 PM   #117
SiR
Vtec just kicked in
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: TO
Posts: 2,728
car looks good. what kind of water temps were you seeing?

ati gauge pod?
__________________
-||Old Crayons||-
SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 01:27 PM   #118
nate_s89
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Windsor
Posts: 332
^Thanks, and yeah it is. I wasn't running the auto meter temp gauge when I drove it, but it climbed to the 3/4 mark on the stock gauge until I noticed then I shut it off.

I am sending my chip back to turner and they are going to re-flash it 5% higher so hopefully that cures my lean issues.

Last edited by nate_s89; 04-27-2012 at 01:32 PM.
nate_s89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 11:08 PM   #119
SiR
Vtec just kicked in
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: TO
Posts: 2,728
nice. the stock gauge is buffered and wont move until like 230F... yikes. Hopefully nothing got hurt.
__________________
-||Old Crayons||-
SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:08 PM   #120
DIY
Permanently Dirty
 
DIY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Etobicoke
Posts: 528
any updates?
__________________
DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.