Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2010, 03:26 PM   #31
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,582


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirex View Post
haha cool

will blocking that port affect surfing and other stuff though?
Well, blocking those URL's won't. Flash uses port 1935 to talk a server, but in the last 2-3 months I haven't encountered any problems with any services while blocking that port.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deep 3.2TL View Post
Yo guys - Have a Dlink WBR2310 - Can't figure out how to block a port - any help?
Sorry, can't help you with that as I don't know anything about that router and it might not be supported

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawcio View Post
^ i tired it too...and it works great thanks.

just to add...if you're running windows xp its easier to set it up using your router firewall as you can't block outgoing ports in winxp...at least i don't know how
Yes you are correct, XP SP2 firewall does NOT support outgoing connections.
SickFinga is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 04:35 PM   #32
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,772
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
vlad, you're the man.
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 04:46 PM   #33
NOTORIOUS VR
6th Gear Member
 
NOTORIOUS VR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,167
For people needing to block ports & URL(s) and have no way of doing it on their router itself. You can always use a free software firewall (like this one: http://www.personalfirewall.comodo.com/)

Only downside to this method is that it's a per-PC situation, where as doing the changes on the router/gateway will make it work for all PC's on the network instantly.

I wonder if this will work for other media sites like Pandora, Netflix US, etc? That would be great if so. Otherwise a private VPN is still not a bad way around either.

Either way, thanks for this!
__________________
E36 DYNO TUNING WIRING PARTS
NOTORIOUS VR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 09:10 PM   #34
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOTORIOUS VR View Post
I wonder if this will work for other media sites like Pandora, Netflix US, etc? That would be great if so. Otherwise a private VPN is still not a bad way around either.

Either way, thanks for this!
Not sure how Netflix works, but the problem with Pandora is that it doesn't even let you get to the player. Even injecting a X-Forwarded-For header doesn't work for it.(this btw works for Comedy Network US and a bunch of other TV stations)
SickFinga is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 10:30 PM   #35
sirex
King Sirex
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by SickFinga View Post
I can't take the credit for this since it was a bunch of us on Reddit trying to figure out the ways to watch it, but here are the instructions.

You need to block a bunch of stuff on your firewall.

1. Block all OUTGOING TCP/UDP connections on port 1935.
2. Block URL - hulu.cust.footprint.net
3. Block URL - releasegeo.hulu.com

This is it. You can watch hulu without any ads from anywhere in the world.

Now there are a bunch of ways to block all that stuff. Personally I use firewall on my router so I don't need to block those on each computer. I got SMC cable modem/router and I can walk you through the settings. You can also use Windows and Mac firewall, except you gotta block the IPs of those URLs(ping them to get the IP). Again router method is preferred since those URLs can use rolling IPs.

P.S. You will get a pop-up on hulu.com saying it works for US only, but ignore that and just go straight to the video. I'm watching Hulu like that for about 2 months now.

i cant seem to figure out how to do this on my dir-655.... there is no options to just block a port.
__________________
sirex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 10:40 PM   #36
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,582
Check Access Control if it allows you to block ports
SickFinga is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 11:03 PM   #37
Deep 3.2TL
6th Gear Member
 
Deep 3.2TL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Milton
Posts: 3,230
Ended up just doing it on my PC through Windows Firewall (windows 7)

Works now...
__________________

2007 Z4 3.0si
Deep 3.2TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 01:10 AM   #38
ChrisTO
∞ Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In my car
Posts: 815
a year later...dead...anything net new? VPN only?
__________________
ChrisTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:55 AM   #39
NOTORIOUS VR
6th Gear Member
 
NOTORIOUS VR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,167
VPN is the best bet if you want US content
__________________
E36 DYNO TUNING WIRING PARTS
NOTORIOUS VR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 12:03 PM   #40
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisTO View Post
a year later...dead...anything net new? VPN only?
what died? maybe i can fix it.
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 12:19 AM   #41
ChrisTO
∞ Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In my car
Posts: 815
the work around for Hulu as suggested by Sicka no longer works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blades View Post
what died? maybe i can fix it.
__________________
ChrisTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 12:43 PM   #42
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisTO View Post
the work around for Hulu as suggested by Sicka no longer works.
how much you want for this broken unit?
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 12:06 AM   #43
ChrisTO
∞ Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In my car
Posts: 815
i think you are mistaken...i don't have a boxeebox. i'm merely stating that the generic work around doesn't work.

i'm in fact looking for a boxeebox / WD Live TV streaming device myself.


I purchased a WD device to only find out Hulu/Vudu/Pandora /Amazon are not even available on CDN WD devices.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blades View Post
how much you want for this broken unit?
__________________
ChrisTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 12:15 AM   #44
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisTO View Post
i think you are mistaken...i don't have a boxeebox. i'm merely stating that the generic work around doesn't work.

i'm in fact looking for a boxeebox / WD Live TV streaming device myself.


I purchased a WD device to only find out Hulu/Vudu/Pandora /Amazon are not even available on CDN WD devices.
Wow .. is that what you wanted to know .. I could have told you that. just get netflix or better yet

mythbuntu with mythtv (front end back end) .. use the server to download your shows and torrents automatically and then stream from whatever source you like.
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 08:29 PM   #45
DaveM3_09
2nd Gear Member
 
DaveM3_09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 228
Repost :S
__________________
DaveM3_09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015