Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2011, 09:36 PM   #1
dannyb
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gatineau Qc
Posts: 629
rear subframe 6mm allen stuck

Anyone know how to remove these? There are starting to strip... If all goes to hell can I drill these out and replace them with new ones?
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 09:44 PM   #2
craz azn
6th Gear Member
 
craz azn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Port Perry
Posts: 7,363
Send a message via MSN to craz azn
Heat + vicegrip. Yes you can replace them no problem.

Oh yea, careful with heat if you got a torch... gas tank
__________________

Rippin' Proper | Youtube | Vimeo |
craz azn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 10:08 PM   #3
e30_kid89
The Afro-stig
 
e30_kid89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: TDot West End
Posts: 4,585
Send a message via MSN to e30_kid89
.....and afterwards do yourself a favor and replace those stupid allens with 13mm regular hex bolts. You'll thank yourself next time if/when you have to pull the subframe for whatever reason!
__________________
e30_kid89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 05:19 PM   #4
DR.ZED
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, On, CANADA
Posts: 474
I put antiseize on the bolt and covered the head of it with grease and the back end. Wipe off anytime and fresh bolt.

My old ones, I did have to use vice grips.
__________________
...
Cam G.
09 Jetta CleanDiesel M6 Highline
85 325e M5
07 Honda Shadow Spirit 750
DR.ZED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 06:09 PM   #5
Bullet Ride
Cars in Perpetual Repair
 
Bullet Ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Guelph
Posts: 5,629
One of mine snapped off before it even started to strip when I did the subframe last year, just drill it out and put a nut and bolt like e30_kid89 said
__________________
Bullet Ride is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 07:02 PM   #6
InfiniteDice
12 Years with the E30
 
InfiniteDice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 1,122
Go buy a set of stainless bolts lock washers, and nuts. 4 sets of course. Why put something there that will rust?


__________________




Performance one step at a time.
InfiniteDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 09:26 PM   #7
dannyb
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gatineau Qc
Posts: 629
So I stripped them, tried to drill them but my bits are really cheap, getting new bits tomorrow.
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:24 AM   #8
sLvr325i
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vineland Ontario
Posts: 109
Cobalt bits are amazing. maybe another stupid question but you do know how to drill properly right? (without over heating and ruining new bits)
sLvr325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:02 AM   #9
E36is
'OldSchool..'
 
E36is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Burlington
Posts: 2,377
^^ also make sure your drill is set for forward not reverse... it happens
__________________
'You don't buy all that jewellery and stick it on an ugly person.'
E36is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 04:31 PM   #10
dannyb
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gatineau Qc
Posts: 629
cheap bits i got in a kit for 20$, i bought some cobalt bits today, ill give it a try later
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 12:51 PM   #11
dannyb
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gatineau Qc
Posts: 629
cobalt bits are amazing, drilled them out in no time... Subframe is finally out, did anyone ever use the adjustment tabs you weld onto your subframe?
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 04:24 PM   #12
sLvr325i
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vineland Ontario
Posts: 109
what did the bits end up costing? last kit i had i remember being 168 bucks
sLvr325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 05:25 PM   #13
dannyb
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gatineau Qc
Posts: 629
40$ but it only goes up to 1/4, theres 14bits i think
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.