Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2010, 08:28 PM   #1
MylesPenney
2nd Gear Member
 
MylesPenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 68
E36 Window Switches?

I'm curious to know if this would work, can i directly install E36 window switches with the auto up/down feature in my E30? Will this work? and will it require any kind of modifications?
Thanks
__________________
---------------1991 BMW 325i BIG TIME----------------
MylesPenney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 10:10 PM   #2
e30_kid89
The Afro-stig
 
e30_kid89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: TDot West End
Posts: 4,600
Send a message via MSN to e30_kid89
search search search and search more...I don't know about the auto rolling down feature, I don't think anyone has done it. these are e30's after all
__________________
e30_kid89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 11:08 PM   #3
MylesPenney
2nd Gear Member
 
MylesPenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30_kid89 View Post
search search search and search more...I don't know about the auto rolling down feature, I don't think anyone has done it. these are e30's after all
yea haha, i was just thinking, if the auto feature is in the switch and it just maintains the connection longer, why wouldn't it work? I dunno, maybe its more complicated, would be nice tho, i'll keep lookin.
__________________
---------------1991 BMW 325i BIG TIME----------------
MylesPenney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 09:16 AM   #4
325isStephen
Drifter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pickering
Posts: 1,314
If you can't find an answer over here, try r3v or e30tech, I'm pretty sure I have seen something like this done.
__________________
325isStephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 10:01 AM   #5
everlast
if I lived . I would be ~
 
everlast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,847
Its way more complicated; there's a CPU controlling the auto up / down features.
__________________
everlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 11:00 AM   #6
Dissembler
4th Gear Member
 
Dissembler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oshawa
Posts: 659
early model e36 switch can be installed, you just need the harness connector and they simply splice in

auto up/down is not possible in an e30 unless you get the module that controls it from and e36 and read the ETMs till you know how to wire it in (a whole new harness).
__________________
S52 E30
Dissembler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
window switches

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014