Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > Audio/Sound
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2009, 10:41 AM   #1
kruler
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: OAKVILLE
Posts: 805
can I use the stock speaker wiring?

I'm about to install a system in my car consisting of the following:

front: MB Quart RCE 213 components
rear: BSW adapters w/ DLS 6x9s
Kicker ZX750.4 4 ch amp (125x4 RMS)

What I'd like to know is can I use the factory wires going from the stock amp to the speakers, or is the gauge too small for the upgraded wattage?
kruler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 04:50 AM   #2
Randy
2nd Gear Member
 
Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: At home.
Posts: 237
I dont "know" per say. But I too am installing a set of amplified components, and I'll be running all new wiring. with all the $$ I've put into this beast, I don't want the thickness/purity of the speaker wire to be its downfall.
Randy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 07:57 AM   #3
eta Epsilon
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal, Formely St-Simon
Posts: 413
+1 on that.
It will take you 1 or 2 hours to do so and the wires are not expensive.
It's worth it!
__________________
03' Ford Focus ZX5, DD
02' Suzuki Katana, Summer fun
86' 325E, All year around fun (it's working, for now)
08' Kia Rondo, Girlfriend's car
eta Epsilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 06:46 PM   #4
spooling
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: ottawa
Posts: 176
+2 run new thicker gauge wires
spooling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 10:42 AM   #5
Randy
2nd Gear Member
 
Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: At home.
Posts: 237
wait, halt.. im rethinking this. I've heard recently that signal cable (ie. speaker wire) doesn't require the 18 AWG wire that we usually use to upgrade it... apparently its all overkill. The car's original wiring diagrams are available off of forums, and can be tapped into and utilized to run after market equipment - several people have done this, and claim there is no sound loss/electrical issues. this type of jig would be cleaner, easier .. smarter?

talk to me.
Randy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 12:28 PM   #6
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,359
best way to find out .. run the speakers loud and if the wire started to get hot .. change it .. otherwise your fine. A better wire may improve sound quality as well.
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 11:05 AM   #7
kruler
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: OAKVILLE
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy View Post
wait, halt.. im rethinking this. I've heard recently that signal cable (ie. speaker wire) doesn't require the 18 AWG wire that we usually use to upgrade it... apparently its all overkill. The car's original wiring diagrams are available off of forums, and can be tapped into and utilized to run after market equipment - several people have done this, and claim there is no sound loss/electrical issues. this type of jig would be cleaner, easier .. smarter?

talk to me.
I just installed the speakers and used the factory wiring. BMW used 16AWG for the woofers and 14AWG for the mids and tweets. This is more than sufficient. The wire is also much better quality than anything you would buy in the aftermarket. Its also nice to have all the wires colour coded for reference.
kruler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 05:51 AM   #8
doogee
Stance is Gay.
 
doogee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ancaster
Posts: 3,452
Send a message via MSN to doogee
Hows it sound?
__________________


Dakar M3 Track Build Thread
doogee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:03 AM   #9
InfiniteDice
14 Years with the E30
 
InfiniteDice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 1,129
Using stock wiring can be done, but they are getting so old, when I did that back in 2001 I had to use a ground loop isolator to get rid of the rpm whine, and you lose resolution doing that.

I'd go with laying new wires and cutting out as much of that crap as possible, including that dumb left right balancer in the dash.
__________________




Performance one step at a time.
InfiniteDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 06:14 AM   #10
Randy
2nd Gear Member
 
Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: At home.
Posts: 237
stock wire works well

I did mine (E46) this past summer, and never posted my results - so here it is:

Used stock wiring with amplified components in each door. and the sound is amazing. i won't claim to be an audiophile, but I have a decent ear, and to me, the sound is brilliant.

even my gf noticed how clear and realistic it all sounded ... and she doesn't usually notice anything (related to the car).

I did have some RPM whine, but to correct that I simply rerouted the RCA cable from the deck so it avoided the (+) lead from the battery to the engine (along right side flood panel of the car).

Conclusions: stock wiring is fine (and colour coded in a logical way), I have a (corrected) .jpeg for the wire colour codes used in my car.
Randy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 10:58 AM   #11
es175
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Brampton
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy View Post

I did have some RPM whine, but to correct that I simply rerouted the RCA cable from the deck so it avoided the (+) lead from the battery to the engine (along right side flood panel of the car).
So are you saying that you avoided the (+) power lead by running the RCA cable along the right side? Or does the (+) power lead run along the right side?
es175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:16 PM   #12
tg07lq
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 792
ill be using my stock wiring to do mine, wheneveri get around to it lol. hoping this will be sufficient.
ill post up results
tg07lq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 05:33 AM   #13
Randy
2nd Gear Member
 
Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: At home.
Posts: 237
the battery lead runs along the right side of my car (the battery is in the right side of the trunk as well). I ran my rca cables along the left side of the car (driver's side).
Randy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 01:57 PM   #14
es175
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Brampton
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy View Post
the battery lead runs along the right side of my car (the battery is in the right side of the trunk as well). I ran my rca cables along the left side of the car (driver's side).
Thanks for the reply.

How did you get the RCA cables pass the piece of plastic trim where the trunk and hood release is located?
es175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 03:21 PM   #15
tg07lq
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 792
that piece will come off. do you ahve a bently manual ? its pretty simple run in these cars. pull it all off, fish it through and voila your done! even has grommets to pass through to the trunk haha
tg07lq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014