Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2009, 03:34 PM   #1
UltimateDriv
Bimmerhead
 
UltimateDriv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: GTA
Posts: 1,053
Send a message via AIM to UltimateDriv Send a message via Yahoo to UltimateDriv
Any PC builders or computer techs on here? or maybe u know someone...



i built a computer and am having trouble getting it to work properly. it turns on, and everything seems to work. but i get no video or beeps???

so i've been racking my brain trying to troubleshoot...and am about to give up, and get some help.

heres what im dealing with

CPU
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...?EdpNo=3751531

motherboard
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...srkey=a780gm-a

memory
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...049&CatId=2264

so if anybody can help or knows somebody who can, let me know....ill compensate you for your time/help.

oh i also need a copy of vista to load on here
UltimateDriv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 03:56 PM   #2
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,660
possible scenarios:
- memory could be bad, test with only the cpu and mobo. disconnect ram, video card, hdd, cd-rom, floppy - all extra peripherals.

if that doesnt work THEN your motherboard is touching the case somewhere underneath causing a short, try putting it on a antistatic bag out of the case and turning it on
Jim .E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 04:02 PM   #3
344i
5th Gear Member
 
344i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: .
Posts: 1,122
Ok! Look at your keyboards when you turn it on. If it lights up (caps, num locks) the motherboard posts, and works. Could be cpu or ram.

No lights= dead board. If you have lights , check with another stick of ram. If that doesn t work, you have a dead cpu.
344i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 04:05 PM   #4
UltimateDriv
Bimmerhead
 
UltimateDriv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: GTA
Posts: 1,053
Send a message via AIM to UltimateDriv Send a message via Yahoo to UltimateDriv
thanks for the input guys...


the keyboard does light up as soon as i power it up, but just a flash for a second
UltimateDriv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 04:07 PM   #5
Axxe
Over 9 F**KING THOUSAND!!
 
Axxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 9,773
Can you push caps and make the light turn on?
__________________

S52|ZF|TRM Coilovers 670/895|Staggered 18" 5's
Axxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 04:08 PM   #6
344i
5th Gear Member
 
344i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: .
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateDriv View Post
thanks for the input guys...


the keyboard does light up as soon as i power it up, but just a flash for a second
So its not the motherboard, its 90% the ram, or 10% chance its the cpu.

The keyboard will light up and turn off, this means the motherboard is posting correctly and in working order. Try a different stick of ram first. If tyou have more then one stick of ram, pull them all out. Try one at a time, until you get boot. even if you get boot, with the first stick try them all to find the crapped out one, and RMA it.
344i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 04:11 PM   #7
UltimateDriv
Bimmerhead
 
UltimateDriv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: GTA
Posts: 1,053
Send a message via AIM to UltimateDriv Send a message via Yahoo to UltimateDriv
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axxe View Post
Can you push caps and make the light turn on?
nope
UltimateDriv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 04:12 PM   #8
344i
5th Gear Member
 
344i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: .
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateDriv View Post
nope
capslock is irrelevant, it will not work, until boot ex: video comes on.
344i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 04:20 PM   #9
UltimateDriv
Bimmerhead
 
UltimateDriv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: GTA
Posts: 1,053
Send a message via AIM to UltimateDriv Send a message via Yahoo to UltimateDriv
Quote:
Originally Posted by 344i View Post
So its not the motherboard, its 90% the ram, or 10% chance its the cpu.

The keyboard will light up and turn off, this means the motherboard is posting correctly and in working order. Try a different stick of ram first. If tyou have more then one stick of ram, pull them all out. Try one at a time, until you get boot. even if you get boot, with the first stick try them all to find the crapped out one, and RMA it.
ill try that...thanks
UltimateDriv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 04:50 PM   #10
bmdbley'sBro
wouldu like some tinfoil?
 
bmdbley'sBro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: in your attic!
Posts: 4,674
odd you say u get no beeps.. which you would with ram, cpu , vid..

I've had a couple of bum'd (new out the box) asus ide cables, took a while to figure that out..
1 was helpful , pulled it from a h/d black clip stayed in the h/d

not being an ass but Bios settings are correct? is it jumperless the board? are all pins placed correclty if its not?
__________________
bmdbley'sBro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 05:29 PM   #11
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,556
What video card do you have? How powerful is your power supply?
SickFinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 05:32 PM   #12
UltimateDriv
Bimmerhead
 
UltimateDriv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: GTA
Posts: 1,053
Send a message via AIM to UltimateDriv Send a message via Yahoo to UltimateDriv
the mobo has a built in video card...but i also have an ATI Radeon X1300 PCI

power supply is 450w
UltimateDriv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 05:35 PM   #13
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateDriv View Post
the mobo has a built in video card...but i also have an ATI Radeon X1300 PCI

power supply is 450w
Is ATI installed as well?
SickFinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 05:49 PM   #14
slemmer
Driving in the fast lane
 
slemmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missed in 'sauga
Posts: 3,000
There may be a conflict with the video card. Try removing the add on video card and test using the onboard video. Is the monitor good?
__________________

'04 645cic
'05 GMC Sierra SLT Z71 CCSB 4x4
'00 740i Sport
slemmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 08:20 PM   #15
344i
5th Gear Member
 
344i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: .
Posts: 1,122
lol
344i is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015