Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2008, 01:22 PM   #1
El Gato Liso
6th Gear Member
 
El Gato Liso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brampton
Posts: 3,105
problems with my tacometer

evyerthing in the cluster works

fuel, speed, and temp, but the tacometer and the fuel usage on the tacometer dont work.

i've checked the fuses for it, i've switch and swapped other tacometers, clusters AND SI Boards....but its not working.

any reason why anyone?

thanks!
__________________
R.I.P. E30
El Gato Liso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 01:25 PM   #2
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,349
you didnt start the car?
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 01:26 PM   #3
El Gato Liso
6th Gear Member
 
El Gato Liso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brampton
Posts: 3,105
...oh shoot...
no comment.
but thanks for the concern
of course i had the car started...this isnt a recent problem, im still trying to figure it out why it not work
__________________
R.I.P. E30
El Gato Liso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 01:55 PM   #4
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Gato Liso View Post
...oh shoot...
no comment.
but thanks for the concern
of course i had the car started...this isnt a recent problem, im still trying to figure it out why it not work
maybe its a clock and not a tach
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 03:12 PM   #5
Quack
Wheelman
 
Quack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,058
Send a message via MSN to Quack
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blades View Post
maybe its a clock and not a tach
if one can't tell the difference between a tach & a clock really shouldn't be driving.
__________________

Maxbimmer Drama, You Gotta Love It
Quack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 09:44 PM   #6
hadesm5
6th Gear Member
 
hadesm5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,798
do your interior lights work?
__________________
hadesm5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 09:53 PM   #7
SamE30e
6th Gear Member
 
SamE30e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Milton
Posts: 2,870
My 318 is doing that too. It's like it'd not getting a tach signal.
__________________
91 318is - M50NV (gone)
02 WRB Subaru WRX EJ207 forged, 320 AWHP stock turbo.
85 - 325
02 325i Sedan
SamE30e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 10:14 PM   #8
Deep 3.2TL
6th Gear Member
 
Deep 3.2TL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Milton
Posts: 3,228
When my Tacometer doesn't work, I visit Taco Bell...

Now if it's your Tachometer - I'm no real help there...
__________________

2007 Z4 3.0si
Deep 3.2TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 10:56 PM   #9
Axxe
Over 9 F**KING THOUSAND!!
 
Axxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 9,768
SI board batteries, 99% sure.
__________________

S52|ZF|TRM Coilovers 670/895|Staggered 18" 5's
Axxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 12:03 AM   #10
El Gato Liso
6th Gear Member
 
El Gato Liso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brampton
Posts: 3,105
yea my interior light dont work.
my glove box light works though

SI batteries huh
can i use actual rechargeable replacements? or do they have to be non rechargeable cells.
i want to get this mother ****er working THIS weekend.
__________________
R.I.P. E30
El Gato Liso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 07:49 PM   #11
e30jones
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lindsay, ON
Posts: 312
gotta be (rechargeable) NiCad's I think, unless you have the Lithium Ion ones, you have to open the cluster and look. Lots of writeups out there on changing them...
e30jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 12:32 AM   #12
hadesm5
6th Gear Member
 
hadesm5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,798
if your interior lights, obc, and trunk light dont work.. then u have the same problem as i do. i replaced the si board on mine and it still didnt work. i was going to go through the wiring to see where the power is being cut off, but i still havn't gotten around to doing so.

here are wiring diagrams that could help (these are for an 87 though). if u're not as lazy as i am maybe u can do some troubleshooting.
http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=104114
__________________
hadesm5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.