Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2008, 05:21 PM   #1
Antz_Marchin
4th Gear Member
 
Antz_Marchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: St.Catharines
Posts: 881
"THE" Digital Climate issue....help please.

Well, I've finally been plagued with a possessed digital climate unit on my E36....on/off, buttons work/then don't, etc. I'm just wondering if anybody who has already fixed the resistor on the circuit as per the DIY would be interested in helping me out with it for a case of beer, $50.... something. I just want it fixed and don't trust myself with this sort of stuff.

Any help would be greeeeatly appreciated. Thanks. -BJ
Antz_Marchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 05:47 PM   #2
tboy356
Ripp a Gear
 
tboy356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: toronto
Posts: 159
i found an easy was to fix it ive fix a few of them alrady this way.

basicly all u have to do is find the risitor and squeese the shit out of it with a pair of pliers seems getto but its been working..
__________________

tboy356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 11:16 PM   #3
98Dinan3
6th Gear Member
 
98Dinan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 2,585
Send a message via MSN to 98Dinan3
I've changed mine... without any squeezing. Let me know if you need a hand...
__________________
98Dinan3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 10:57 AM   #4
tboy356
Ripp a Gear
 
tboy356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: toronto
Posts: 159
lol im just saying its an easy was to fix it i dident say it was the right way
__________________

tboy356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 09:22 PM   #5
Antz_Marchin
4th Gear Member
 
Antz_Marchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: St.Catharines
Posts: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98Dinan3 View Post
I've changed mine... without any squeezing. Let me know if you need a hand...
Thanks man, I may shoot you a pm over the next couple of weeks when I get a chance to get on it. Are you in Toronto??
Antz_Marchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 01:17 AM   #6
98Dinan3
6th Gear Member
 
98Dinan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 2,585
Send a message via MSN to 98Dinan3
Hamilton... I think I have the capacitor if you want to save yourself from tracking one down. I'll check and let you know. They're only a few bucks from my local electronics shop...
__________________
98Dinan3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 11:42 PM   #7
Antz_Marchin
4th Gear Member
 
Antz_Marchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: St.Catharines
Posts: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98Dinan3 View Post
Hamilton... I think I have the capacitor if you want to save yourself from tracking one down. I'll check and let you know. They're only a few bucks from my local electronics shop...
Cool, I'm in St Catharines but will be working in Burlington as of Monday. Just getting around to uncovering the car tomorrow. If the climate control is still giving me the same trouble that it was in late November, maybe we can hook up for a couple beers and some fun with solder within the next couple weeks.
Antz_Marchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 12:01 AM   #8
Eurostyle
MaXsponsor
 
Eurostyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milton
Posts: 14,878
I just got a nice one in...for sale at the same price as usual...
__________________
BIMMER HEAVEN
Specialized in BMW recycling, all OEM used parts
Up to 90% off new cost!!!
Most models E30 E36 E46 E90 E92 E34 E39 E60 E32 E38 E65 E66 X5 M3 M5


Call 11-8PM 416 821-2578
New inventory daily. 50+ cars in stock!
Eurostyle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 03:16 AM   #9
Antz_Marchin
4th Gear Member
 
Antz_Marchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: St.Catharines
Posts: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eurostyle View Post
I just got a nice one in...for sale at the same price as usual...
Haha, yeah being far from Toronto I've missed the last 2. I hear the fix is pretty simple and I thought I read somewhere last week that a new unit isn't simply plug and play. Is there some sort of reprogramming needed when swapping units?
Antz_Marchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 10:11 AM   #10
Eurostyle
MaXsponsor
 
Eurostyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milton
Posts: 14,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antz_Marchin View Post
Haha, yeah being far from Toronto I've missed the last 2. I hear the fix is pretty simple and I thought I read somewhere last week that a new unit isn't simply plug and play. Is there some sort of reprogramming needed when swapping units?
I have swapped mine several times and never had problems, just plug and play!
__________________
BIMMER HEAVEN
Specialized in BMW recycling, all OEM used parts
Up to 90% off new cost!!!
Most models E30 E36 E46 E90 E92 E34 E39 E60 E32 E38 E65 E66 X5 M3 M5


Call 11-8PM 416 821-2578
New inventory daily. 50+ cars in stock!
Eurostyle is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.