Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > Audio/Sound
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-17-2007, 02:00 PM   #1
DINAN 3
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,194
Send a message via AIM to DINAN 3
Question Who can install my CD43 Radio ?

I'm looking at replacing my original C33 head-unit with a brand new BMW CD43 Business CD/Radio head-unit.
I've read on various bimmerforum posts that it takes some fiddling around to get this thing to fit flush in the dash.
Looking for someone with experience interested in doing the job for me for a couple of bucks or can anyone recommend a shop for me in the GTA ?
Reply/PM or e-mail me at mrvster@aol.com.

Marv.

BTW: If any of you is also looking to upgrade to a stock CD43.....I can hook you up...See ~~>

http://maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=93278
DINAN 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 02:04 AM   #2
Rally318ti
3rd Gear Member
 
Rally318ti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 372
Kromer
__________________


FOR SALE:

Orion Cobalt 465 4 channel Excellent shape $150

Also have E30, E36, Z3 318ti KMAC REAR CAMBER KIT BNIB opened. New Price $60
Rally318ti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 09:35 AM   #3
DINAN 3
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,194
Send a message via AIM to DINAN 3
^^^

Aren't they expen$ive ?
DINAN 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 05:17 PM   #4
Rally318ti
3rd Gear Member
 
Rally318ti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 372
Well really depends on ya budget I guess all I know is they do a good job!
__________________


FOR SALE:

Orion Cobalt 465 4 channel Excellent shape $150

Also have E30, E36, Z3 318ti KMAC REAR CAMBER KIT BNIB opened. New Price $60
Rally318ti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 11:11 AM   #5
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stance
Posts: 12,711
Safe & Sound. E36 experts.

Jay
__________________
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 06:56 PM   #6
MParallel
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16
Company on Ebay.de (Germany) sells brand-new CD43's.

http://cgi.ebay.nl/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180154546395&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOIBSA:NL:31]CLICK

For like one 5th of orginal dealer price.

I picked one up

Not sure how flush flush is, but I this is what I got:

It did took some effort to get it in this far. But please so make sure that the 1 locking slides on each side are turned fully inwards. Even slightly out and the unit won't go in.

I have the older (CD33?) cd front loader and compared to that one, the sound output on the CD43 is awesome. Sure it has no MP3, USB, Christmas lights and whatever, but nothing will match the dash better than this.



__________________
MParallel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 11:23 AM   #7
DINAN 3
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,194
Send a message via AIM to DINAN 3
UPDATE: THNX Jay !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystikal View Post
Safe & Sound. E36 experts.

Jay

Sorry about the delayed response.
I had Charlie (Bimmersport) install the deck for now.
He managed to get it in COMPLETELY flush.
Though now that I just bought a full BMW HK sound system (also from a '98 sedan), I've made an appointment with Mohamed at "Safe & Sound" to do the conversion.
I'm going in on Monday to get an estimate.
DINAN 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 02:05 PM   #8
aa34s
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 129
Just one question, can it fit in the E30?? Need any adapter for the wires or plugs?

Thanks
aa34s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 07:46 AM   #9
MParallel
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by aa34s View Post
Just one question, can it fit in the E30?? Need any adapter for the wires or plugs?

Thanks
Should be plug & play.

Maybe older e30 have a different loom, but if you have the 17-pin plug you'll be fine.
__________________
MParallel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 08:16 AM   #10
tominizer
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wooda-bridga
Posts: 2,277
If you're somewhat capable, you can accomplish this yourself. Usually the toughest thing is tucking in the wiring as you're slipping the head unit back into the dash bracket. You need patience but it's very do-able as a DIY-er project.
tominizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 01:04 PM   #11
aa34s
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 129
Great
aa34s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 05:34 PM   #12
98Dinan3
6th Gear Member
 
98Dinan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 2,583
Send a message via MSN to 98Dinan3
+1 on the DIY. It's not likely you will break anything, and worst case scenario you take it in after having failed. At least give it a try...

If you want to come to Hamilton, I'm sure I could wedge that bastard in there for you.
__________________
98Dinan3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 08:08 PM   #13
Soldo
6th Gear Member
 
Soldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,485
DAMN, if only this headunit played MP3's i'd be all over, i don't own any NON-MP3 cd's anymore!
__________________
Keven Soldo
Soldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 07:11 PM   #14
MParallel
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soldo View Post
DAMN, if only this headunit played MP3's i'd be all over, i don't own any NON-MP3 cd's anymore!
Well, you can hook up an iPOD/mp3 player with a Dice module. I guess you would prefer and mp3 player above just a disc as it can obviously hold more songs
__________________
MParallel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 10:05 AM   #15
BMW03
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 286
ya that looks clean, nice find on a deck, but i know I will always have a pioneer.
__________________
BMW03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.