Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2008, 02:27 PM   #1
FuryriderX
cra.iX.y
 
FuryriderX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stoney Creek
Posts: 1,259
The Digital Dash Project

Shamelessly copied from my e30tech thread, LINK

Picked up one of these. Mostly because i was fascinated with it. I like the digital displays, and i figured, for the price of 4 or 5 good gauges, i could get this thing, thats pretty much universal, and a hell of a cool looking thing too.

Plus, it connects directly to megasquirt, and means i dont have to cart my laptop around to see what its up to.

Here it is, at my house.




I got to thinking, where will i mount this? Originally i thought, id replace the check panel with it. Very cool, bling effect, but id have to rebuild the check panel and put it elsewhere, and the space was a bit small

So, im driving, and i get an epiphany. Why dont i put it into the cluster??? It can be used as a speedometer and oil pressure gauge, via auxillary inputs.

So, i grabbed a cluster i had hangin around, and started checking things.


Plenty of depth!

So, the gauges came out


I hacked it up a bit (the plastic cuts/breaks real easy)



Voila! It fits!!!



All i lost, was the high beam indicator, and the 'CHECK' light. Not excessively dramatic.

Now, i just have to make some sort of bracket to hold it in place, and figure out the circuits for the speedo. Oil pressure isnt critical, and can be added later.

I plan to add a sheet of either stainless or brushed aluminum on top of the plastic, with cutouts for the gauges, turn signal lights, and the LCDash. Should look pImp!
__________________
FuryriderX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 02:45 PM   #2
everlast
if I lived . I would be ~
 
everlast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,847
Great idea and it going to look awesome! No odometer tho? I guess you can just swap in the old cluster if you need a safety check or something eh?
__________________
everlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 03:35 PM   #3
FuryriderX
cra.iX.y
 
FuryriderX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stoney Creek
Posts: 1,259
yep. totally plug'n'play. the odometer workings are too big to fit elsewhere in the cluster, otherwise id try to remote mount them somewhere. like a fancy hour meter, haha.

actually......thats not a terribly bad idea. i may look into this. it only takes 5 connections from the PCB on the cluster.....
__________________
FuryriderX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 07:32 PM   #4
bmwm5lover
is BMW crazy
 
bmwm5lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 15,395
Interesting concept. I liek the idea of it, but I would need to see the final product before I give my irrelevant "Yay" or "Nay".

Kudos for keeping busy though.
__________________
www.enthusiastauto.caNeed a car???

His--'00 BMW ///M5 .:Jet BLK/BLK:. Individual-1 of 1 - Style 65 Wheels; 9.5" Square Set up;275 Tires;10mm/3mm Spacers; Black Kidneys;Muffler Delete; 3.5" Dual Tips; Beast Power; "Dinan" Ducts; E60 SSK; BC Coils
Hers--'04 Volvo S60R/6spd.:Nautical Blue/Gobi&Black
'00 BMW ///M5 .:Avus Blue/Grey/Black:. 1 of 8 SOLD
Toys
'88 BMW 635CSi Blue/Tan Sport
'81 MB 500 SEC Euro Koenig
bmwm5lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 08:09 PM   #5
andicanada
4th Gear Member
 
andicanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin Germany
Posts: 660
Send a message via MSN to andicanada
take a look at the stuck(company name is stuck) cluster a friend off mine bought that unit, it is awsome and you have many functions i was reading up on the megasquirt display it is nice but i think not the right thing to replace your cluster completly
andicanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 10:10 PM   #6
FuryriderX
cra.iX.y
 
FuryriderX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stoney Creek
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by andicanada View Post
take a look at the stuck(company name is stuck) cluster a friend off mine bought that unit, it is awsome and you have many functions i was reading up on the megasquirt display it is nice but i think not the right thing to replace your cluster completly
Googled that, couldn't find anything. Maybe you could post a link?

The LCDash is a touchscreen, yes. And im only replacing the tach and speedo, the gas and temp gauges are staying. And, ill be gaining an AFR/MAP/oil pressure/intake temp/etc etc gauge.
__________________
FuryriderX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 08:11 PM   #7
andicanada
4th Gear Member
 
andicanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin Germany
Posts: 660
Send a message via MSN to andicanada
and second i have to add the megasquirt display is a touch screen or can you run the functions with a switch system ??? to go from menu to menu
andicanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 10:24 PM   #8
andicanada
4th Gear Member
 
andicanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin Germany
Posts: 660
Send a message via MSN to andicanada
http://cgi.ebay.de/STACK-8100-0-8000...QQcmdZViewItem


and by the way i was thinking to do the megasquirt
do you have the setup running on a m20 or m50
andicanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 10:28 PM   #9
Jamil
2nd Gear Member
 
Jamil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 252
Can't wait to see the finished product . Good luck.

Not sure about this though:

Quote:
Originally Posted by FuryriderX View Post
Oil pressure isnt critical, and can be added later.
Some of the old-school guys would say it's the most critical...
Jamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 12:10 AM   #10
FuryriderX
cra.iX.y
 
FuryriderX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stoney Creek
Posts: 1,259
andi - its an m20.

yes, i definitely agree, it is very important, BUT, its not critical, as im not boosted (yet) and still have the oil pressure idiot light.

also, sourcing a sender isnt easy either. the only place ive found that will ship to canada is summit racing on ebay, and they charge exorbitant handling fees.

if you have a source on a VDO 0-100psi oil pressure sender, let me know!
__________________
FuryriderX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 01:10 PM   #11
andicanada
4th Gear Member
 
andicanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin Germany
Posts: 660
Send a message via MSN to andicanada
i have a source i get always parts shipped from germany pm me
andicanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 10:26 PM   #12
FuryriderX
cra.iX.y
 
FuryriderX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stoney Creek
Posts: 1,259
okay, time for updates

laid out where to cut


this is what it looks like in the cluster. i know, i screwed up one of the cuts. thats what i get for having too many cut lines on the metal. i think the cutout is a hair small too, ill have to see when i hook it up/turn it on.



any ideas on covering up that stupid cut? i was thinking of some kind of border to the screen, but i think it looks good just semi-flush with the stainless.

i thought the screen would look tiny in there, but somehow it doesn't. seems to have alright proportions too, no funk-tasticness.
__________________
FuryriderX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 03:36 AM   #13
InfiniteDice
14 Years with the E30
 
InfiniteDice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 1,129
Maybe

Get some carbon fiber adhesive stuff... and make it all look carbon fiber. Look for stainless or chrome rings for the gauge cutouts.

You might be able to fill the cut with silver solder or jb weld then paint the whole thing, or make another cut on the other side so people think that's the way it's supposed to be. lol

Neat idea though, lots of extra space... what about a few other aftermarket gauges? just a thought.

Good Luck,

Mike.
InfiniteDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:38 AM   #14
FuryriderX
cra.iX.y
 
FuryriderX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stoney Creek
Posts: 1,259
the point of the project is to replace any aftermarket gauges i would get, with that one display. thats how i justified the price, to myself, anyways.

even if i have to make another cutout, i have a pattern now.
__________________
FuryriderX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 09:00 PM   #15
BmW1819
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pickering
Posts: 2,832
can't wait to see it up and running
BmW1819 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014