maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio/Sound (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Have head unit& amp, need speaker help????? (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=90286)

new2bmw 05-21-2007 02:18 AM

Have head unit& amp, need speaker help?????

Ok, I have a 300 watt 4 channel pioneer amp, not sure about any other details on it right now, i have a pioneer DEH-P3800MP head unit, 50 wx4. heres where i need help please. I have an 84 bmw 318i, I want to put in 6x9 in the rear, 5 1/4 in the kickpanels and tweeters in the domes behind the mirrors.
i have no idea how to determine how many watts each set of speakers should be? I am new to this so i didnt realize car audio was such a refined art. If you could keep it simple for me and let me know how many watts each set of speakers should have for maximum performance without killing them that would be incredible. not planning on running a sub right now, maybe later. really need your help here guys, need to put the car together before paint next week. I am planning on running all new wiring, dont want to use anything from the old setup. thanks in advance!

paul christians 05-21-2007 05:40 PM

us the amp and not head units power,for speakers something that can handle between 50 to 100 watts rms not peak or something with a hight Sigenal to Nosie like 90 to 93 S/N but if you get some with 89 or 90 you will be fine....check this link out www.12volt.com and surf it....

FuryriderX 05-21-2007 06:23 PM

welcome to the wonderful world of car audio. hope you enjoy your stay, haha. it can get complicated. but here you go.

for the front, the 5 1/4's will bolt right into the stock locations. just make sure that the new speakers arent any deeper (like if they have a huge magnet) than the old ones or you will have problems. get a set of component (= separate mid and tweeter) 5 1/4's if you can, itll make the wiring a lot easier.