maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Forced Induction (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=97)
-   -   wideband O2 gauges.. (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72797)

Furious 06-07-2006 07:04 AM

wideband O2 gauges..
 
guys is this compatable with my car?

i know its universal but still need to double check

http://cgi.ebay.ca/AEM-UEGO-30-4100-...QQcmdZViewItem

bubsy12 06-07-2006 07:37 AM

Yep, those aem gauges/probes are great and can be used with any n/a or f/i setup.

SickFinga 06-07-2006 07:42 AM

Mark, it is compatable with ANY car.
You going to have to get a bung installed in your exhaust, and you are good to go.

The only difference is that there are couple of different versions.
One shows AFR (11.0-16.0), another shows LAMBDA ratio, and another show AFR Volts.

The one you need is AFR.
The one on ebay has both, AFR and LAMBDA, so it should work.

Furious 06-07-2006 12:57 PM

do i care about lambda control?

SickFinga 06-07-2006 01:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Furious
do i care about lambda control?

Nope

Furious 06-07-2006 04:35 PM

i didnt think so, sounds good, looks like i have my 5th and final gauge.

bubsy12 06-07-2006 08:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Furious
sounds good, looks like i have my 5th and final gauge.

LOL, Welcome to the "Pilots Club" LOL

KIRASIR 06-07-2006 11:41 PM

You would be better off with this:
http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/x...me.php?cat=253

configured with a regular a/f gauge. It would be about the same price as the gauge you posted, but with A LOT more flexibility (dataloging, aux outputs, etc).

SL



Quote:

Originally Posted by Furious
guys is this compatable with my car?

i know its universal but still need to double check

http://cgi.ebay.ca/AEM-UEGO-30-4100-...QQcmdZViewItem


Furious 06-08-2006 12:13 AM

ive been looking at this type of stuff, because i do have a narrow band gauge.

skillton 06-08-2006 01:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KIRASIR
You would be better off with this:
http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/x...me.php?cat=253

configured with a regular a/f gauge. It would be about the same price as the gauge you posted, but with A LOT more flexibility (dataloging, aux outputs, etc).

SL

It would be about $150 more. That link you posted doesn't include the gauge itself
I would go with something that has datalogging capibilities, the AEM doesnt

Furious 06-08-2006 02:17 AM

i realize that, but i really dont need to data log too much, i mean im running on a canned software, its not stand alone. the tune is set, i only want the gauge to make sure that during dramatic temp changes like we see in canada, that the car wont lean out too much.

MarkD 06-09-2006 07:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Furious
i realize that, but i really dont need to data log too much, i mean im running on a canned software, its not stand alone. the tune is set, i only want the gauge to make sure that during dramatic temp changes like we see in canada, that the car wont lean out too much.

Mark,

do you really think you are going to be driving and looking at the gauge also?
Get an Innovate system (they are the best available ) and if you buy the right one, you can log data. Then, if the data indicates that the car needs some fine tuning, it can be done. The Innovate system stores 12 samples every second, so is very useful for tuning. It's the system I use.

MarkD

Furious 06-09-2006 12:46 PM

i already got the AEM on the way, i looked at the innovate system, and i really dont need it, im not going to be looking at the gauge much, but i will be keeping an eye on it. if i were stand alone i would have opted for the innovate system. but my chip isnt easy to tune or will it be often i tune it, probably once more ill get a reburn i have to check two things first, 1. proper fuel pressure, 2. my MAF is clean.

than another dyno run and if need be ill be sending my data back to AA for a reburn.

MarkD 06-09-2006 12:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Furious
i already got the AEM on the way, i looked at the innovate system, and i really dont need it, im not going to be looking at the gauge much, but i will be keeping an eye on it.

Then you won't be getting any useful info from it. It will just be there for "show".

Quote:

Originally Posted by Furious
but my chip isnt easy to tune or will it be often i tune it, probably once more ill get a reburn i have to check two things first, 1. proper fuel pressure, 2. my MAF is clean.

Who says it's not easy to tune?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Furious
than another dyno run and if need be ill be sending my data back to AA for a reburn.

The data you got from that dyno run is useless for tuning for 2 reasons:

1) a/f ratio measured after the cat

2) exhaust being sampled out of sync with the rpm sampling.

I pointed out to Vlad that the a/f ratio is lagging the rpm display by about 4 to 5 hundred rpm. Vlad agreed after I explained it to him and discussed the results of his run.

Furious 06-09-2006 02:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarkD
Then you won't be getting any useful info from it. It will just be there for "show".

show? i said im going to use it, all i mean is that im not going to be constantly watching it, im able to see where i am while im driving at a glance. again this is pointless to argue about as i already purchased it on ebay and its on route. so too late.

Quote:

Who says it's not easy to tune?
i said its not.


Quote:

The data you got from that dyno run is useless for tuning for 2 reasons:

1) a/f ratio measured after the cat

2) exhaust being sampled out of sync with the rpm sampling.

I pointed out to Vlad that the a/f ratio is lagging the rpm display by about 4 to 5 hundred rpm. Vlad agreed after I explained it to him and discussed the results of his run.
regardless the dynos gave me a decent idea of whats going on, its not useless and i dont understand how you would think it would be, i mean your able to determine data from it, so its not "useless"


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.