maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio/Sound (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   e36 stock radio wires? (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64963)

Lug_n_trug 01-25-2006 10:28 PM

e36 stock radio wires?
 
I went to put in a new deck today after mine wouldn't unlock for some reason, and I soldered the harness adapter in no problem. It's a 93 318is. I need the antenna adapter (store sold me the wrong one....) but there's another wire in the back of the stock unit (that's taped to the antenna cable) that I have no idea what it is. The antenna wire is the big 90* fitting (if I'm not wrong) but what's the other little silver tipped 90* fitting that goes into the stock radio?

The HU works fine as it is without radio (neither cables are plug in), but I want to know where the little one is supposed to go. I'll have the antenna adapter tomorrow, but I don't have any adapters for that wire. (Possibly a stereo ground?)

Sorry for being long-winded and confusing (just got off work) and thanks in advance for any help.

Lug_n_trug 01-26-2006 06:53 AM

http://www.pelicanparts.com/BMW/tech...Radio/pic6.jpg

here is a picture of the back, it's the little connecter (female) piece above the antenna connecter. No other radio installation DIY's seem to have it.
Extra pieces are great.*uzi*

Lug_n_trug 01-26-2006 03:44 PM

No ideas? I want to install the deck permanently, and the antenna is hooked up and working, just want to know what that is first. Thanks

Justin e36 01-29-2006 12:43 AM

Hiya Lug,

I could be wrong here, it's tough for me to see in the picture---but I believe that wire is for the auto-dimmer / headlight switch. When your headlights turn on, the stereo should auto-dim. Not all aftermarket stereos have this feature though. If you're not using the wire, don't forget to tape it up.

Lug_n_trug 01-29-2006 04:27 AM

Thanks Justin, and I did forget to tape it up. Drained my battery nice and good like....but it's done now. HU works fine without it, so it's staying out. Just wanted to know if it was something really important.

Thanks again


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.