maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio/Sound (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   cheap amp wiring kits??? (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64907)

e30_kid89 01-24-2006 08:25 PM

cheap amp wiring kits???
 
i want a wiring kit. my amp is 760 watts and the kit that handles that and up to 1400 watts costs 179.99 @ future shop which i think if ****in gay. is there ne other kits u know of for about 800 watts that is @ a resonable price? im gonna go check my dad's friend's audio store for some tommrow but if u kno of any, feel free 2 post.

T.Dot_E30 01-24-2006 08:40 PM

piece together your own kit.
318s have the battery in the back also right?

If so, DO NOT BUY A KIT.
You dont need such a long power wire unless you plan on putting ur amp up front.


Get a good set of RCAs ~$15-50
Goto a Car Audio place, and buy your power wire by the feet. (Bulk)
Depending on where you wanna put ur amp, i'd say about 4f is good.
Get something 8gauge or less. Remember lower the gauge, thicker the wire.
4ft (+) Wire $10-30.
4ft (-) Wire $10-30.
Buy a fuse holder $10-20.
Some connectors $10

then you just need a remote wire, and some speaker wire for the subs.

those prices are on the very high side, you can find stuff for way less if you know where to look.

325iSBimmer 01-24-2006 10:01 PM

yeah...definately piece together your own kit because like was said before you dont need a power wire nearly as long as a car with the battery in the front. which is where most of the cost comes in.

e30_kid89 01-24-2006 10:27 PM

good cuz i didnt wanna buy one but my bro was insisting that i NEED one....i like it wen im right:) can i get remote wire from an audio store too? and does the power wire come with ground wire too?

T.Dot_E30 01-24-2006 10:41 PM

For remote you can use pretty much any wire, relatively thin (12-16gauge). It runs from your deck to your amp.

I recommend you buy a set of RCAs with a remote wire attached to it already. That makes life easier.


Yes, the power and ground wire will come seperately when you buy em bulk, think of a big spool of wire, they cut how much feet you need. $2-10 / ft. They usually come in different colours, I usually get Red (+) and Black (-).

paul christians 01-24-2006 10:47 PM

you do not, need 12 gauge for your turn on lead wire.16 or 18 is good......

e30_kid89 01-24-2006 10:57 PM

iight this is the list imma take with me to the audio store:

4ft of red (+) wire - 8 gauge

4ft of black (-) wire - 8 gauge

like about a foot of any power wire to be ground since its being mounted in the trunk i will just attach it to the back wall of the trunk that is metal

would 15ft - 17ft. of 16 gauge wire for the turn on & rca cable make it to the trunk from the HU via drivers side?

edit:oh and i forgot to add a fuse holder

T.Dot_E30 01-24-2006 11:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by e30_kid89

would 15ft - 17ft. of 16 gauge wire for the turn on & rca cable make it to the trunk from the HU via drivers side?

Yes 10ft should make it, 17ft can probably go to the trunk and back, our cars aren't that long.

vegabass 01-25-2006 01:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by e30_kid89
iight this is the list imma take with me to the audio store:

4ft of red (+) wire - 8 gauge

4ft of black (-) wire - 8 gauge

like about a foot of any power wire to be ground since its being mounted in the trunk i will just attach it to the back wall of the trunk that is metal

would 15ft - 17ft. of 16 gauge wire for the turn on & rca cable make it to the trunk from the HU via drivers side?

edit:oh and i forgot to add a fuse holder

check your PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014