maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Off-topic (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   can i put a 120v object into my car? (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64549)

Primus 01-18-2006 07:11 AM

can i put a 120v object into my car?
 
is there a way that i can wire up a 120volt object to perminantly run in my car?
i want to put 2 luminglas lightning storms beside my subs for a visual effect but cant seem to find them in 12v car application

heres what i want to put in my truck...seems they only come in 120V AC but ive personally seen them in cars and limo's so how can i make this work?

these items actaully are 12v ac, they come with an inverter for 120v AC to 12v AC... does this help my situation?
http://shopping.redorbit.com/edmunds...ec0f2bf389.jpg

propr'one 01-18-2006 10:23 AM

If they're 120-> 12V, rip out the inverter, power em from car power. that's ideal. Otherwise you'd need an inverter to step up the voltage from 12->120. but the problem with that is, you'll be stepping up 12 V to 120V then back to 12V. Power loss, heat and inefficiency. If you're gonna go the easy way and have the power converted twice, use like a 250 watt converter

koncise 01-18-2006 12:50 PM

1 Attachment(s)
now its not too big for your avatar :P

Justin e36 01-18-2006 03:08 PM

My guess is that you meant that the appliance takes 120VAC

The problem is that a car battery puts out 12VDC

Because there is not only a different voltage, but also you different form of current (needs alternating current, gets direct current), you need what is called an inverter. It takes DC and turns it into AV. They are very common and most are made for that specific purpose and go from 12VDC to 120VAC @ 60Hz.

Most automotive inverters plug into a cigarette lighter and have standard 120V 60Hz wall plugs for output. You can then plug in any standard home appliance or such into the inverter.

special note:

Most appliances that use AC input (like 9VAC or 12VAC) will *usually* work with a DC input voltage.
The reason is that *usually* the AC gets rectified into DC inside the appliance anyways.

You could try feeding it 12V DC and see if it works.
It shouldn't hurt anything,and it doesn't matter which wire is + or -,because the rectifier inside will "fix" the polarity for you.

This is assuming a full-wave bridge rectifier... if it's just a simple diode or half wave, it just won't work one way, swap the power wires around and try again, it should work.

95% of the time DC will work just fine, but I make no guarantees. :)

Primus 01-18-2006 04:01 PM

yeah i was hoping because there 12volts AC that 12volts DC would work somehow!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015