maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio/Sound (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Installed Amp/Sub, but I get no sound. (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51960)

Sampson 04-09-2005 09:10 PM

Installed Amp/Sub, but I get no sound.
 
Hello,
Today I installed a 2/1 Channel Alpine Amp, and a Alpine Sub (don't know the exact models off hand, but I can get them if required.)

The amp turns on, but I don't get anything from the sub. When the light comes on the Amp, what does it mean is working? Does it only mean my remote wire is on right, or does it mean my power cable/ground cable are on right too?

I'm just at a loss at how to trouble shoot this. I have a multi-meter if it helps :), but I've never installed this kind of thing before.

Another problem could be my head unit; it's an Alpine 9811. I *think* I have everything set the way it should be, but I'm not 100%. SubW is set to on, and SubW level is 4 or so.

So how can I see if there is a signal comming from the Headunit to the Amp?

Thanks for the help,
Justin

paul christians 04-09-2005 09:45 PM

check the RCA and remote line.than go from there....

Sampson 04-10-2005 05:17 PM

Thanks. I figured it out: The speaker singals from the headunit was going to the stock amp, where it was getting amped again. So that was working fine all along, you just couldn't turn the volume up much.

Then when I added the sub, I bypassed the stock amp, so when I had the volume low on the headunit the signal was really weak going to the sub amp.

So what I ended up doing was just using the fader to fade the sound to the rear speakers, which aren't installed anymore, so that the fronts were only getting a light signal. Then you can turn up the volume and it matches with the sub.

Sounds odd, but it will work fine for now until I replace the stock speakers and can get rid of the stock amp.

Sampson 04-11-2005 04:02 PM

Here's some pictures of the fiberglass sub enclosure I made. I decided to make the sides and bottom out of MDF to save some time, for my first attempt I think it came out well:

http://www.surfkazoo.com/sub1.jpg
http://www.surfkazoo.com/sub2.jpg

ChahalzBMR 04-11-2005 04:24 PM

I hope that box can be moved around easily because you gonna have a hell time replacing any burnt tail lights!

Sampson 04-11-2005 05:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChahalzBMR
I hope that box can be moved around easily because you gonna have a hell time replacing any burnt tail lights!

Haha, yes it's easy to take out, it's just pressure fitted in there. Tight enough to stay in place over bumps but pulls right out when you need to without any tools.

ChahalzBMR 04-11-2005 05:21 PM

*th-up*


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014