maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   E30 (1983 - 1991) (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   absolute noob looking for some help!! (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=160159)

noobeee 10-08-2013 01:46 AM

absolute noob looking for some help!!

1 Attachment(s)
looking for a bit of help. I bought a 1991 318is about a week ago, my plan was to buy a car and use it as a daily . i found a car that i liked went to check it out test drove it etc the car was being sold as is so i was a little weary of buying it but went ahead. after getting a safety report of what i need done it turns out the car is going to need a bit of work (which i expected) my plan is to fix it up over winter and use it as a daily next year but my problem is i know nothing, raeding my safety report is like reading a foreign language so i thought id ask here for some insight on what to do and where to start? This is my first car so i am very new to this stuff, i have no idea where to go to get parts/install or what is easy enough where i can do it myself.Any information is appreciated thanks for your time!

noobeee 10-08-2013 02:27 AM

1 Attachment(s)
a picture of the car

richie_s999 10-08-2013 07:49 AM

Why not ask the shop that did the inspection for more details, I'm wondering how they found cracked spark plugs, you'd have to pull the cover and wires and plugs out to find this.

The Twin 10-08-2013 08:17 AM

why is "spark plugs and wires" showing up on a MTO safety??

smells like a shady shop....

noobeee 10-08-2013 09:37 AM

honestly i had to tow the car home myself so this was the only shop close to my house, it was a subaru dealership which was my first mistake!

alaadeen 10-08-2013 10:22 AM

Take it to RMP Motors in Etobicoke or a shop that works exclusively on Zee Germanz (i mean german cars ;))

noobeee 10-08-2013 12:07 PM

i think my best bet would be to do that!

The Twin 10-08-2013 02:12 PM

absolutely...