maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Forced Induction (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=97)
-   -   M50b20 nv 6 pin maf conversion help :( (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=158049)

captain E34 06-03-2013 07:58 PM

M50b20 nv 6 pin maf conversion help :(
 
hey guys, im in the middle of swapping out my tiny 2.75 6 pin maf in my 520 for a 3.5 4 pin maf from a 540,

I started with wiring up the wires the same way as the 540 but obviously having the 6 pin (which only has 5 pins being used) I have a left over wire,

I have 12 v power and the main ground hooked up but now im left with three wires on the dme side and 2 on the maf side....

is this combination not compatible at all or do I need to do some wire running to the dme?

NOTORIOUS VR 06-05-2013 10:57 AM

the extra wire in a MAF is usually for air temp

captain E34 06-05-2013 06:30 PM

Could i run just that wire plus + & - to a maf an sit it in the engine bay with the air temp hooked up then the rest to the new maf? Seems cheesy but will it work!,

NOTORIOUS VR 06-10-2013 03:04 PM

If it is indeed air temp, theoretically you should be able to put the correct air temp sensor in the MAF area... but I would confirm first.

Is there a reason why you went with this type of MAF? Speak with your tuner, I'm sure he would have an idea of what you should/can be using.

captain E34 06-11-2013 09:32 AM

Well the current maf i have in my m50 cant handle over 6psi without a fuel cut :( soo i have a 3.5 maf for obd1 and would like to install it so i can boost to about 10 psi,

How would i go about installing an air temp senor in the new maf? Or how would i wire it up? :o

Edit..... tuner recomended the larger maf and with any m50 VANOS!, it is compatible... cuz the mafs only use 4 wires :(

NOTORIOUS VR 06-12-2013 11:03 AM

If he recommended that MAF then he should know what to do with the extra MAF wires. ask him.

SamE30e 07-28-2013 10:47 PM

You should be able to wire in a air temp sensor like Notorious said.

I'm pretty sure Miller performance makes a kit for this. Look into what they do.

captain E34 07-29-2013 11:39 AM

Asking around, i couldnt find any local help, or much info on the conversion, so what i have started to do is pull the upper section of my maf from its housing and i am going to mount it in a larger housing like 3.5 inch

P.s. pics coming soon


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.