maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   E30 (1983 - 1991) (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   325ix manual swap. Local help? (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=157119)

aberg83 04-21-2013 06:59 AM

325ix manual swap. Local help?

Just got an 89 ix auto in decent shape and looking to do a manual swap this spring or summer. Poking around for parts now. I'm a beginner mechanic and think this may be overwhelming for me. I'm in Guelph. Anyone nearby that may be willing to assist with the swap?

Ceeker 04-21-2013 09:17 AM

do you realize what kind of work you'll be getting yourself into??? lol
I don't think anyone is going to help through and through. it's a HUGE job. if I were you I'd thoroughly investigate it before attempting since you're a newbie.

most importantly you will need a 5sp transfer case. Unless you get a 5 sp transmission with the transfer case attached. The auto and 5sp have different front housings.

parts requried: pedals
clutch and slave cylinders and lines
clutch
new seals on the transmission while you have it out. maybe good to check the shifter bushings as well while it's out. :-)
not sure about the front drive shaft but may be shorter.
the front and rear diff has a different ratio on a auto. 4:10 is what you have.
3:90 is what comes with a 5sp. you may or may not want to keep the set up you have
the car will be quicker with the 4:10 and 5sp.

Of course you also have the labour: exhaust system out, drive shafts out. rear diff out.
transmission out. and the list goes on...

still feel like doing it?? LOL!!

sorry, not to discourage but you'll also be into about a grand or more in used parts. plus replacements.

check with boxer2.bmw@gmail.com. he's got a few parts cars. I know he's got a 5sp tranny with case.

aberg83 04-21-2013 09:23 AM