maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   E46 (1998 - 2005) (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Am i getting a good deal here? (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149079)

Klipzs 02-29-2012 10:40 PM

Am i getting a good deal here?

I am a student and will be buying my first car.
I was looking through craigslist/kijiji and ran into this ad:
http://calgary.kijiji.ca/c-cars-vehi...AdIdZ358957701

I called the guy and will meet up with him some time this week to test it out.
Apparantly its only got 18,000km on the engine because it was replaced.
Signaling lights are burnt out (both), needs new brakes and the trunk lock needs to be replaced.
Overall, am i getting a good deal?
When buying the car, what are some things I should look out for?
thanks for reading!

propr'one 02-29-2012 10:46 PM

its an OK deal. The market here in calgary is strange for bmw's.

Both signal lights is likely an elecrtical issue vs bulbs being burnt out. If the rear turn signals work though, its probably not a huge deal.

If the engine was replaced by a dealer with paperwork i'd say its deal worth considering, but i'd probably get him to move 10% on price.

Lots of people will tell you to stay away from early e46's. Personally, i've never had/seen them having that much more issues than late e36's/post 2001 e46's.

Vitek's BMW in calgary is a really great shop for repairs or a pre-purchase inspection, owner was a foreman at BMW calgary for 10 years before he quit to start his own shop.

Eurostyle 02-29-2012 10:51 PM

I would not buy a car from someone who post an ad like this, period. Also too lazy to replace signal bulbs (5 min job!) or brakes. Unless he spent $10K at a new engine from BMW, this is some kind of rebuild, which i would stay away from. Finding even a used 12 year old engine with 18K is also impossible.

Klipzs 02-29-2012 11:01 PM