maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Quebec/Gatineau/Ottawa (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=119)
-   -   local Audio install? (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138826)

Bimmer p.i. 11-27-2010 09:08 PM

local Audio install?
 
I already have an after-market CD player in my E36 but just picked up another one (with USB connection) in the States and wonder if you guys can recommend someone local to install it for me - qualifications are simple - cheap and good!

I had used Joe's in the past, but that was a lifetime ago - and don't know if they're still any good. So - who is affordable and reliable?

Future Shop will do it for about $70 but the seem to take FOREVER!

opinions?

carjoe 11-27-2010 10:10 PM

DIY. Less than an hour and that's worst case. My old car had the harness cut off, took me an hour to swap the deck the first time.

If the harness is intact, you just need to pair up the wires, plug er in and go!

Bimmer p.i. 11-27-2010 10:27 PM

Yeah I thought of that - but I want it done right the first time. wiring/electrical isnt my thing.

carjoe 11-28-2010 09:49 AM

Here: http://www.pelicanparts.com/BMW/tech.../E36-Radio.htm
Start at step 7 and you probably wont' need any harnesses.
Unless you're colour blind, this is as easy as washing your car,

HavocSteve 11-28-2010 11:42 AM

Come over to my place, I'll install it for you. I just put a complete system in my E30. I've also been wiring my fathers RAM 1500 for 10" pioneer champ series subs and jackhammer amp. It's really not complicated. Once you do it once, it's always the same thing over and over again.

Bimmer p.i. 11-28-2010 06:33 PM

If you're serious PM me your number and we'll set it up - I would like to have it done by tomorrow or Tuesday if possible (will pay, of course)

HavocSteve 11-28-2010 08:25 PM

PM sent. I'm wondering if you have the harness, if you do this can be a 10 minute install, if not, it'll be the same but you might have to pick up another harness to fit the E36 if it has one. My E30 didn't have a harness so I just re-wired the complete car. (That also includes a toggle wire from the ignition and constant power from the battery).

EDIT : I have electrical tape but I don't have wire cutters. If you have some bring some, or bring any tools you need. (Like a soldering gun with proper conductive wire if you want to go that route for the best sound). I don't have those tools since I recently moved here from T.O.

MaxBell 11-29-2010 12:17 AM

Steve, I have wire cutter/stripper and soldering equipment if you need anything.

Bimmer p.i. 11-30-2010 10:31 AM

Thank you VERY much for your kind offer - I was certainly going to take you up, but while I was getting the new headlights installed at Autovation yesterday, they have arranged to 'hook me up' for today - those guys are really looking out fo me :-)

I have decided tho that I will enjoy the car for the winter, then sell it in Spring to upgrade to a 5 or 7 series - so I just may come back to you yet, if that's ok?

HavocSteve 11-30-2010 06:06 PM

It's fine man. Glad to see a shop offering some help. I actually encountered my own problems last night anyways (look at the E30 forum page). Your more then welcome to come in the spring, just let me know how much for the car :P I'm looking for another since last nights issue.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.