maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   E46 (1998 - 2005) (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Cost to own (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=132954)

fuufuu 05-08-2010 11:20 PM

Cost to own

I have a quick question. As my first car i plan to own a BMW, sadly the only car I seem to like, everything else is 'ok'.

But I'm a bit curious on costs to own one, not insurance though, like oil changes and such. I am still a full time student and have to pay for that too

(I know im a girl, but I understand cars pretty well thanks to the boyfriend, but i cant remember EVERYTHING, anyways he's off in the military so i have no one else to ask and my dad is a muscle car guy and Honda owner...go figure.)

My Bosses car tell me scary stories like "my husband leaves 1k every time he goes to the dealership!" "oh they break so easy" "go for a audi" (repeat in thick Chinese accent)

So what am i up against?

Eurostyle 05-09-2010 03:17 AM

The way i see it, you live once, drive what makes you happy! All cars brake down, BMW is not the best car ever, but again what is!? If you know where to go, and how to do things (do it right, the first time, dont cut corners etc) it will cost you as much as any other "cheap" car...There are several dealer alternatives, that will save you BIG $$$, also a very big online community that can be very helpfull...I had to make the same choice at 17 when i got my first car, and i have never regreted it since! *th-up*

BMW_M_POWER 05-09-2010 02:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fuufuu (Post 1418036)
I have a quick question. As my first car i plan to own a BMW, sadly the only car I seem to like, everything else is 'ok'.

But I'm a bit curious on costs to own one, not insurance though, like oil changes and such. I am still a full time student and have to pay for that too