maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Off-topic (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Any PC builders or computer techs on here? or maybe u know someone... (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118647)

UltimateDriv 04-09-2009 03:34 PM

Any PC builders or computer techs on here? or maybe u know someone...
 
i built a computer and am having trouble getting it to work properly. it turns on, and everything seems to work. but i get no video or beeps???

so i've been racking my brain trying to troubleshoot...and am about to give up, and get some help.

heres what im dealing with

CPU
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...?EdpNo=3751531

motherboard
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...srkey=a780gm-a

memory
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...049&CatId=2264

so if anybody can help or knows somebody who can, let me know....ill compensate you for your time/help.

oh i also need a copy of vista to load on here

Jim .E. 04-09-2009 03:56 PM

possible scenarios:
- memory could be bad, test with only the cpu and mobo. disconnect ram, video card, hdd, cd-rom, floppy - all extra peripherals.

if that doesnt work THEN your motherboard is touching the case somewhere underneath causing a short, try putting it on a antistatic bag out of the case and turning it on

344i 04-09-2009 04:02 PM

Ok! Look at your keyboards when you turn it on. If it lights up (caps, num locks) the motherboard posts, and works. Could be cpu or ram.

No lights= dead board. If you have lights , check with another stick of ram. If that doesn t work, you have a dead cpu.

UltimateDriv 04-09-2009 04:05 PM

thanks for the input guys...


the keyboard does light up as soon as i power it up, but just a flash for a second

Axxe 04-09-2009 04:07 PM

Can you push caps and make the light turn on?

344i 04-09-2009 04:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UltimateDriv (Post 1286170)
thanks for the input guys...


the keyboard does light up as soon as i power it up, but just a flash for a second

So its not the motherboard, its 90% the ram, or 10% chance its the cpu.

The keyboard will light up and turn off, this means the motherboard is posting correctly and in working order. Try a different stick of ram first. If tyou have more then one stick of ram, pull them all out. Try one at a time, until you get boot. even if you get boot, with the first stick try them all to find the crapped out one, and RMA it.

UltimateDriv 04-09-2009 04:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Axxe (Post 1286171)
Can you push caps and make the light turn on?

nope

344i 04-09-2009 04:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UltimateDriv (Post 1286174)
nope

capslock is irrelevant, it will not work, until boot ex: video comes on.

UltimateDriv 04-09-2009 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 344i (Post 1286172)
So its not the motherboard, its 90% the ram, or 10% chance its the cpu.

The keyboard will light up and turn off, this means the motherboard is posting correctly and in working order. Try a different stick of ram first. If tyou have more then one stick of ram, pull them all out. Try one at a time, until you get boot. even if you get boot, with the first stick try them all to find the crapped out one, and RMA it.

ill try that...thanks

bmdbley'sBro 04-09-2009 04:50 PM

odd you say u get no beeps.. which you would with ram, cpu , vid..

I've had a couple of bum'd (new out the box) asus ide cables, took a while to figure that out..
1 was helpful , pulled it from a h/d black clip stayed in the h/d :D

not being an ass but Bios settings are correct? is it jumperless the board? are all pins placed correclty if its not?

SickFinga 04-09-2009 05:29 PM

What video card do you have? How powerful is your power supply?

UltimateDriv 04-09-2009 05:32 PM

the mobo has a built in video card...but i also have an ATI Radeon X1300 PCI

power supply is 450w

SickFinga 04-09-2009 05:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UltimateDriv (Post 1286202)
the mobo has a built in video card...but i also have an ATI Radeon X1300 PCI

power supply is 450w

Is ATI installed as well?

slemmer 04-09-2009 05:49 PM

There may be a conflict with the video card. Try removing the add on video card and test using the onboard video. Is the monitor good?

344i 04-09-2009 08:20 PM

lol


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015