maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   E30 (1983 - 1991) (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   The Digital Dash Project (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=105259)

FuryriderX 05-08-2008 02:27 PM

The Digital Dash Project
 
Shamelessly copied from my e30tech thread, LINK

Picked up one of these. Mostly because i was fascinated with it. I like the digital displays, and i figured, for the price of 4 or 5 good gauges, i could get this thing, thats pretty much universal, and a hell of a cool looking thing too.

Plus, it connects directly to megasquirt, and means i dont have to cart my laptop around to see what its up to.

Here it is, at my house.
http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/3493/dsc05784gs7.jpg
http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/9159/dsc05790gv3.jpg
http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/9436/dsc05791oc1.jpg

I got to thinking, where will i mount this? Originally i thought, id replace the check panel with it. Very cool, bling effect, but id have to rebuild the check panel and put it elsewhere, and the space was a bit small

So, im driving, and i get an epiphany. Why dont i put it into the cluster??? It can be used as a speedometer and oil pressure gauge, via auxillary inputs.

So, i grabbed a cluster i had hangin around, and started checking things.

http://img357.imageshack.us/img357/5746/dsc05793hs6.jpg
Plenty of depth!

So, the gauges came out
http://img158.imageshack.us/img158/5750/dsc05792sp1.jpg

I hacked it up a bit (the plastic cuts/breaks real easy)
http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/538/dsc05796qc4.jpg
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/2421/dsc05797ux7.jpg

Voila! It fits!!!
http://img354.imageshack.us/img354/2214/dsc05800hl8.jpg
http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/3144/dsc05801xr1.jpg

All i lost, was the high beam indicator, and the 'CHECK' light. Not excessively dramatic.

Now, i just have to make some sort of bracket to hold it in place, and figure out the circuits for the speedo. Oil pressure isnt critical, and can be added later.

I plan to add a sheet of either stainless or brushed aluminum on top of the plastic, with cutouts for the gauges, turn signal lights, and the LCDash. Should look pImp!

everlast 05-08-2008 02:45 PM

Great idea and it going to look awesome! No odometer tho? I guess you can just swap in the old cluster if you need a safety check or something eh?

FuryriderX 05-08-2008 03:35 PM

yep. totally plug'n'play. the odometer workings are too big to fit elsewhere in the cluster, otherwise id try to remote mount them somewhere. like a fancy hour meter, haha.

actually......thats not a terribly bad idea. i may look into this. it only takes 5 connections from the PCB on the cluster.....

bmwm5lover 05-08-2008 07:32 PM

Interesting concept. I liek the idea of it, but I would need to see the final product before I give my irrelevant "Yay" or "Nay".

Kudos for keeping busy though.

andicanada 05-08-2008 08:09 PM

take a look at the stuck(company name is stuck) cluster a friend off mine bought that unit, it is awsome and you have many functions i was reading up on the megasquirt display it is nice but i think not the right thing to replace your cluster completly

andicanada 05-08-2008 08:11 PM

and second i have to add the megasquirt display is a touch screen or can you run the functions with a switch system ??? to go from menu to menu

FuryriderX 05-08-2008 10:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by andicanada (Post 1150534)
take a look at the stuck(company name is stuck) cluster a friend off mine bought that unit, it is awsome and you have many functions i was reading up on the megasquirt display it is nice but i think not the right thing to replace your cluster completly

Googled that, couldn't find anything. Maybe you could post a link?

The LCDash is a touchscreen, yes. And im only replacing the tach and speedo, the gas and temp gauges are staying. And, ill be gaining an AFR/MAP/oil pressure/intake temp/etc etc gauge.

andicanada 05-08-2008 10:24 PM

http://cgi.ebay.de/STACK-8100-0-8000...QQcmdZViewItem


and by the way i was thinking to do the megasquirt
do you have the setup running on a m20 or m50

Jamil 05-08-2008 10:28 PM

Can't wait to see the finished product *th-up*. Good luck.

Not sure about this though:

Quote:

Originally Posted by FuryriderX (Post 1150393)
Oil pressure isnt critical, and can be added later.

Some of the old-school guys would say it's the most critical...

FuryriderX 05-09-2008 12:10 AM

andi - its an m20.

yes, i definitely agree, it is very important, BUT, its not critical, as im not boosted (yet) and still have the oil pressure idiot light.

also, sourcing a sender isnt easy either. the only place ive found that will ship to canada is summit racing on ebay, and they charge exorbitant handling fees.

if you have a source on a VDO 0-100psi oil pressure sender, let me know!

andicanada 05-09-2008 01:10 PM

i have a source i get always parts shipped from germany pm me

FuryriderX 05-16-2008 10:26 PM

okay, time for updates

laid out where to cut
http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/6712/dsc05824aq1.jpg

this is what it looks like in the cluster. i know, i screwed up one of the cuts. thats what i get for having too many cut lines on the metal. i think the cutout is a hair small too, ill have to see when i hook it up/turn it on.
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/2970/dsc05830wz7.jpg
http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/2073/dsc05831gi4.jpg

any ideas on covering up that stupid cut? i was thinking of some kind of border to the screen, but i think it looks good just semi-flush with the stainless.

i thought the screen would look tiny in there, but somehow it doesn't. seems to have alright proportions too, no funk-tasticness.

InfiniteDice 05-17-2008 03:36 AM

Maybe
 
Get some carbon fiber adhesive stuff... and make it all look carbon fiber. Look for stainless or chrome rings for the gauge cutouts.

You might be able to fill the cut with silver solder or jb weld then paint the whole thing, or make another cut on the other side so people think that's the way it's supposed to be. lol

Neat idea though, lots of extra space... what about a few other aftermarket gauges? just a thought.

Good Luck,

Mike.

FuryriderX 05-17-2008 10:38 AM

the point of the project is to replace any aftermarket gauges i would get, with that one display. thats how i justified the price, to myself, anyways.

even if i have to make another cutout, i have a pattern now.

BmW1819 05-19-2008 09:00 PM

can't wait to see it up and running


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014