maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   E36 (1991 - 1999) (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Engine swap, extra fusebox plug? PLEASE HELP! (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=97984)

ClayMan 11-16-2007 02:16 PM

Engine swap, extra fusebox plug? PLEASE HELP!
 
1 Attachment(s)
Anyone know what the middle fusebox plug is used for in 6-cylinder OBD2 cars? It's only got 4-pins under it. Is it for ASC?

I recently swapped an S52 from a '97 M3 with its harness into a '96 328. The harness has this extra connector on it, my car doesn't even have the plug for it (it's just an empty hole). The car won't start and I'm trying to figure out if the missing connector is the cause before swapping the harnesses.

If it helps... The donor M3 was an automatic, with ASC... And my 328 is a manual, without ASC. Would that make a difference? Could the missing ASC module be causing the DME not to fire? (It cranks, but won't start - and I can smell fuel from the exhaust, so there's probably fuel going to the engine)

BigD 11-16-2007 04:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ClayMan (Post 1079380)
The donor M3 was an automatic

*th-up*

Why'd you swap the harness? It's the same (well it's also automatic...).

soon2b-e 11-17-2007 12:44 AM

i doubt the asc has anything to do with the engine not starting, if the asc isnt plugged in, then you just wont have asc (traction control)

Jon@Bimmersport 11-18-2007 12:54 PM

Did you swap to the M3 ECU?? If you did, its your EWS alignment..what you need to do is put the stock 328 computer in (it will run, just not perfect) and get the EWS aligned for the new ECU.

propr'one 11-18-2007 08:24 PM

jon hit the nail on the head. those DIN slots connect to the EWs control module.

ClayMan 11-18-2007 11:33 PM

I am already using the 328 computer with the 328 EWS, 328 key, M3 harness on the M3 engine. The harness came with the engine (and it runs all under the intake manifold and such), so it didn't make sense to swap it.

I'm pretty sure that port isn't EWS, because my car is '96, has EWS, and the connector isn't there. UNLESS they changed the harness and wiring from '96 to '97... (Just for testing, I swapped in another DME that definitely is not aligned to the EWS and I get the exact same symptoms)

Jon@Bimmersport 11-19-2007 11:59 PM

There is no difference in the harness except that it has a relay connecting a few wires next to the ECU. Do you have this relay?

Did you fully inspect the harness for any cut wires before dropping it in?

BigD 11-20-2007 12:11 AM

It's the autobox connector

ClayMan 11-20-2007 03:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jonny_blaze (Post 1080344)
There is no difference in the harness except that it has a relay connecting a few wires next to the ECU. Do you have this relay?

Did you fully inspect the harness for any cut wires before dropping it in?

Yes indeed, there was an extra relay around the DME area. I've tried starting with and without it... No difference. The harness had an O2 sensor connector cut off, but that was repaired.. :S

ClayMan 11-20-2007 03:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigD (Post 1080347)
It's the autobox connector

Are you referring to the relay near the DME or the fusebox connector I posted a picture of?

I don't think the fusebox connector is purely for the automatic tranny, because I've seen a bunch of manual 328is and M3s that have all 3 connectors...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2018