maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   5 series (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=61)
-   -   E34 M5 no compression in Cyl. #3 (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=142042)

Boxer2 04-12-2011 06:21 PM

E34 M5 no compression in Cyl. #3

Hey folks, I'm working on my E34 M5 and determined that there is no compression in cylinder #3.

I have never worked on a S38B36, I have been told it could need a valve adjustment.

Since I have no experience with this motor I was wondering if anyone that does have experience with the S38 would have any advice as to what the problem may be.

Also I would be looking for a reputable technician that is 100% confident they can do the job without damaging the motor, if anyone knows of a good tech please let me know.

thanks
Rene

marek 04-12-2011 06:51 PM

Marcus Glarner is the man when it comes to M motors. He is in Port Hope, ON.

Doubtful that it would need just a valve adjustment, but not impossible. Valve clearances are easy to check yourself.

Google it and you will find a step-by-step DIY

BigD 04-12-2011 07:52 PM

So all other cylinders are good, it ran fine otherwise? Probably not the problem then but I'd double check the timing just in case.

Do you have any oil in the coolant or vice versa, or coolant pressurization? I think best case is that the head gasket is toast.

Either way, to check it out I'd go to Auto Evolution in Oakville. If you need major engine work, then Progressive Specialties.

BigD 04-12-2011 07:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by marek (Post 1494038)
Marcus Glarner is the man when it comes to M motors. He is in Port Hope, ON.

That's true but make sure your will mentions who gets your car, since your descendants are likely to be the ones to receive the finished product :P (keeeeding Rudy... kinda haha)

Boxer2 04-12-2011 09:25 PM