maXbimmer Forums

maXbimmer Forums (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/index.php)
-   E30 (1983 - 1991) (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   Rev it up! (http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=157937)

BMe30 05-29-2013 09:19 AM

Rev it up!
 
A little clip of my itb set up.

http://youtu.be/uPNYFYNqcJ4

Just need to make some time for a little dyno tuning for wot ignition timing

mr ilia 05-30-2013 05:26 PM

Nice. What is a turnerpro?
How do you plan to do etest with this whole setup?

BMe30 05-30-2013 09:03 PM

Tunerpro is a free tuning software program. You do however need to buy ostrich 2.0 hardware to plug into the ecu. You will also need an xdf file to translate the bin file to tune with.

It has its ups and downs... So far the only down side is that you still need to run the afm. The plus side is you have full tuning control just as a full standalone system.

Since the car is a 91 i fall under the 2 speed idle test. So as long as im running clean during the 2 idle tests i should be fine. I plan on having an emissions tune to upload when the time comes.

mr ilia 05-31-2013 10:39 AM

How much did Ostrich 2.0 cost you?

NOTORIOUS VR 05-31-2013 11:36 AM

hard to see, but it looks like you have the stock barn door (AFM/flapper) still there after the air filter?

If so can I ask why? all that work to put ITB's and a nice plenum and then put that restriction in front?

Bullet Ride 05-31-2013 11:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BMe30 (Post 1612562)
Since the car is a 91 i fall under the 2 speed idle test. So as long as im running clean during the 2 idle tests i should be fine. I plan on having an emissions tune to upload when the time comes.

You shouldn't have a problem, I almost passed this morning with no ICV and a cam *mumble**shiner* *drink*
http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/show...4&postcount=11

Quote:

Originally Posted by NOTORIOUS VR (Post 1612633)
If so can I ask why? all that work to put ITB's and a nice plenum and then put that restriction in front?

I believe he's planning on converting over to stand alone eventually, but in the mean time on the stock DME he still needs the AFM for the car to run.

BMe30 05-31-2013 12:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mr ilia (Post 1612623)
How much did Ostrich 2.0 cost you?

http://www.moates.net/ostrich-20-the...eed-p-169.html

:)

BMe30 05-31-2013 12:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NOTORIOUS VR (Post 1612633)
hard to see, but it looks like you have the stock barn door (AFM/flapper) still there after the air filter?

If so can I ask why? all that work to put ITB's and a nice plenum and then put that restriction in front?

Fair question. It was cheaper at the time to go with tunerpro rt / ostrich 2.0 to tune my car instead of going full standalone.
After i build another m42 with a sport cam and higher cr im going to go full standalone and bigger itbs with a pretty funky itb mount manifold... Here's the hint "pulse chambers". Ive seen them on the stock m42 intake manifold. But where my jaw dropped was when i saw the pulse chamber on a m10 race motor with side draft carbs and pulse chambers on the header!

Crazy

mr ilia 05-31-2013 12:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BMe30 (Post 1612640)

Can you also get a wire harness to set it up w/o messing with stock wiring?

NOTORIOUS VR 05-31-2013 12:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BMe30 (Post 1612643)
Fair question. It was cheaper at the time to go with tunerpro rt / ostrich 2.0 to tune my car instead of going full standalone.
After i build another m42 with a sport cam and higher cr im going to go full standalone and bigger itbs with a pretty funky itb mount manifold... Here's the hint "pulse chambers". Ive seen them on the stock m42 intake manifold. But where my jaw dropped was when i saw the pulse chamber on a m10 race motor with side draft carbs and pulse chambers on the header!

Crazy

I was under the assumption that some people were able to get a MAF in place of the AFM (maybe hit up some of the guys on E30tech.com who have done just that (on an M20 ECU).

Otherwise it looks like a nice setup!

SiR 05-31-2013 12:48 PM

great diy set up. love this kind of stuff

BMe30 05-31-2013 01:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mr ilia (Post 1612646)
Can you also get a wire harness to set it up w/o messing with stock wiring?

It plugs into the ecu where a performace chip would go. It uses all the stock sensors


VR : Miller tried to build a maf conversion for the m42 but dropped it. There is another guy who is taking up the maf challenge in cali for the m42.

Bulletride: what was your emissions results? Easy tune to pass?

Bullet Ride 05-31-2013 01:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BMe30 (Post 1612653)
Bulletride: what was your emissions results? Easy tune to pass?

See the post I linked.

BMe30 05-31-2013 01:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bullet Ride (Post 1612655)
See the post I linked.

My bad

mr ilia 05-31-2013 02:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BMe30 (Post 1612653)
It plugs into the ecu where a performace chip would go. It uses all the stock sensors

Sorry, want to clarify, are you saying it is plug and play as it is? No cutting and soldering will be required?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2018