PDA

View Full Version : Propr'one


Deep 3.2TL
12-15-2007, 05:10 PM
BIG BIG BIG Thumbs up for Ivan - He spent 2 different trips to Milton and at least 5-6 hours on my car to figure out that unfortunately the HID's would not work. To top it all off, when I offered him some cash for his time, he would not take it and apologized to ME for not getting the HID's to work in my system.

One HECK of a stand up guy and would recommend to ANYONE without hesitation.

Thanks Ivan - Hopefully the Nissan forums will help us figure it out!!

Deep

kurupt_k
12-17-2007, 12:18 AM
why wont they work? what year is the car?

Deep 3.2TL
12-17-2007, 08:14 AM
2007 Murano - US Car... We think it may have something to do with the Canadian Tire DRL Module that had to be installed. Basically, if we done have any Halogens fire, the DRL module thinks there are no lights on the system and doesn't send the power to the lights... If we have one halogen fire with the HID's, they work. It was VERY odd and FRUSTERATING. If you have a suggestion, please let me know.

propr'one
12-17-2007, 01:29 PM
why wont they work? what year is the car?

its an 07 car, with a aftermarket DRL relay installed.

If there is a (noticable, non-hid) load on the lowbeams (aka halogen bulb), then everything works correctly.


If there is no load, the system fails to see anything on the lowbeam connection and kills the current.

Its a dual stage 9007 kit.

kurupt_k
12-17-2007, 05:30 PM
there are 2 ways of doing it: 1) i think u can run the low + to the parking lights and the high to the high beam wire and they share a common ground

or 2) i know if u find the right combination of resistor it works, one of my customers is using very small resistors on his dodge 3500 and it has a similar system installed and it works perfectly.

propr'one
12-17-2007, 08:48 PM
1)
There are no auxillary parking lights, highbeams do not share a common ground. This wouldn't fix the problem since its the computer that kills the power to the lowbeams. It actually kills the +, not the ground.

2) Yes, resistors will work, so will higher gauge wiring. But if we were to go as far as to do that, its probably easier to take the aftermarket DRL module out and bypass the problem entirely.

Deep 3.2TL
12-17-2007, 09:17 PM
^^^^ True - which is what we are going to try next - Once Ivan finishes his exams this week. Again - I can't say how much I appreciate the time you putting in on this, Ivan.

propr'one
12-17-2007, 09:24 PM
Sure thing.

The one other option we do have, is connecting it once again with a relay, and using a trigger from any other accessory (interior lighting/fuel pump relay/ anything that turns on when the car is on). The issue here is, we dont want to modify any of the stock wiring.

Mabye later on this week i'll bring some resistors's if i have time to fab up connectors, oftentimes, resistors are a guessing game, since if you go too high, the lights will flicker, and if you go too low they wont work. And you can't just match the resistance of the halogen, because that + ballast is too much load.

edit: No, actually, i just realized you can't do that. When no lowbeam -> highbeams also disabled, so if we wired it up externally (to fuel pump, for example) the highbeams wouldn't work.

Square 1:)

Deep 3.2TL
12-17-2007, 09:50 PM
I don't really like the idea of resistors. If we can find what they connected to the DRL relay, we should be able to use that for a trigger. I'll ask my brother-in-law's mechanic about where they hooked it up...

propr'one
12-17-2007, 10:09 PM
awesome.

kurupt_k
12-18-2007, 08:08 PM
yea i would just rip the drl out prob the easiest way

bdonkersgoed
12-19-2007, 09:17 PM
Ivan has helped me out before too, by spending over an hour with me and refusing to accept cash for his extra time. He's an awesome guy, and hooked me up with some great HIDs that have been working flawlessly since I got them over 5 months ago :)

BMW_7
01-04-2008, 05:39 PM
Why not just rip out the DRL module? That's what I've always wondered. Once the car passes the customs / you get that slip of paper saying you had it installed, what is the use of having it?

Don't know much about this stuff, so I could be wrong

Deep 3.2TL
01-04-2008, 05:49 PM
Yea I could do that... just a hassle...