PDA

View Full Version : Help with turbo


roaster
08-07-2007, 05:50 PM
Hi guys

My turbo kit just arrived from TDC any recomandations on a good place to have it installed.

Thanks

bmdbley'sBro
08-07-2007, 05:54 PM
hmm :huh?: maybe link this in the e30 section (more views)!?

what turbo did the kit come with??

roaster
08-07-2007, 06:58 PM
Its a T04e-46tran Made By Garrett

tarek hazime
08-07-2007, 07:07 PM
nice i was always debating myself shell i buy the kit or fabricate my own....
what u thnk of it as a kit...u think its gots good fuel mangement...
sorry if i ask to much but also would u know the turbo specs as in tri...
just beautifull turbo E30...

PedroBMW
08-07-2007, 09:40 PM
Take it to RMP motors (MAX SPONSOR!!!), he's installed turbos before, won't be a prob assuming its a complete kit, I've never heard of it before.

Don't forget to post some vids when its in!!!!

Axxe
08-07-2007, 10:05 PM
TDC or TCD? I think you have your digits confused.

Furious
08-07-2007, 10:34 PM
take it to RMP, i wouldnt even hesitate on it.

roaster
08-08-2007, 09:17 AM
Its turbocharging dynamics (TCD) and its a complete kit it was not easy finding a kit for an E30 325is but these guys come will recomanded the other nice thing is that i'm geting a complete 24lb injectors.
The guys at PJC auto on danfort are going to install it they have a few
e30 race cars there also.Couple of them are turbos and one is super charged
I think.

Axxe
08-08-2007, 12:00 PM
Stay Away From Pjc. Many Horror Stories From There.

static
08-10-2007, 09:17 AM
^ +1

hey, where, did my post about PJC go??? *no-no*

tarek hazime
08-17-2007, 08:58 PM
so roaster any progress yet with the kit...

Autotechnica
08-18-2007, 11:06 AM
go to www.dynamotorsports.ca :)

Ask for Tony and tell him Bryan sent you.

Osh tuned Chris's M3 there on his dyno. Tony also works on my car.

Gamite
08-20-2007, 03:28 AM
That's tony's shop? That's friggen huge!

Autotechnica
08-20-2007, 05:42 PM
That's tony's shop? That's friggen huge!

Yea, it's not a mickey mouse operation ;)

The dyno alone was like $120,000

Gamite
08-20-2007, 07:52 PM
is he there all the time? It's sorta close to my work, I should drop by.

Autotechnica
08-20-2007, 08:52 PM
is he there all the time? It's sorta close to my work, I should drop by.

Yep, he's there from like 1pm to pretty much 12 midnight or later. Depends if he has anything to work on. He could be there earlier though, really depends on whether or not he can wake up, lol.

jjm_240sx
08-20-2007, 10:40 PM
I could probably do the install as well if your intrested pm me.

roaster
08-22-2007, 10:45 AM
Hi Guys

The kit is in finally I'm only using 5 PSI for now the car is performing very will.
going to use 5 PSI for next few weeks and eventually raise it up to 6.5 PSI.
I wish I could post photo on the form for every body to see, But I'm not sure how to do that.

Furious
08-22-2007, 01:11 PM
glad to hear.

MarkD
08-23-2007, 01:48 PM
Yea, it's not a mickey mouse operation ;)

The dyno alone was like $120,000


Are you sure it was $120K? When I checked 2 years ago, the 2 wheel dynapack was under 45K USD

PedroBMW
08-23-2007, 02:08 PM
Are you sure it was $120K? When I checked 2 years ago, the 2 wheel dynapack was under 45K USD

wow, u must have some kind of hookups. At UofW they were trying to get a dynapack for our shop, I think they would have been getting some sort of substantial discount and it still was about that price. I was told that the full price was close too $100k but I honestly never looked into it myself, this is just what I was told by our tech. There are lots of differnt models with different capabilities.

Autotechnica
08-23-2007, 05:52 PM
Are you sure it was $120K? When I checked 2 years ago, the 2 wheel dynapack was under 45K USD

You sure about that? If that was true a lot of shops would have it by now. What good shop can't afford 45K?

There are only a couple of shops who have dynapaks in Canada, the reason being they are very expensive. Hell if they were $45K, I would consider buying one myself.

BTW, it's a model 4000. I don't know if mayble some other models don't come with the motec sensors, but this one has wideband AFR's, boost curve, etc etc.

MarkD
08-23-2007, 06:05 PM
You sure about that? If that was true a lot of shops would have it by now. What good shop can't afford 45K?

There are only a couple of shops who have dynapaks in Canada, the reason being they are very expensive. Hell if they were $45K, I would consider buying one myself.

BTW, it's a model 4000. I don't know if mayble some other models don't come with the motec sensors, but this one has wideband AFR's, boost curve, etc etc.

I got quotes of around 45K USD for the 2 wheel Dynapack, I can't remember which model it what as it was about 3 or 4 years ago, not 2 as I mentioned.

I still have the brochure Dynapack sent me somewhere here, I'd have to find it. It probably a smaller model. They only had two versions of 2 wheel dyno then.

PedroBMW
08-24-2007, 05:25 PM
they have more than two models now. Must have been a small one for sure.