PDA

View Full Version : Forum hang


AcidSnow
12-09-2002, 11:41 AM
just wonderig if anyone else has experienced this lately. after going to http://www.maxbimmer.com and clicking on the forum link, I only have about 30-45 sec. untill no more links work. I can go into any thread, but after having the browser open for more then 45 sec. I just get no more responses from max no matter what I do. I have to close the browser, and if I open it again, it works for about 45 sec. again. I have had no problems with any other site.

here is what I have WinXp, running latest version of IE, and SP1. and a cable modem, connect through a broadband router.

tlaselva
12-09-2002, 11:56 AM
Ur not the only one.
Exact same thing happens to me.

Did the usual stuff to resolve to no effect.

I also running WIN XP w/SP1, IE6 w/sp1, accessing through Rogers cable. Going to try to see going on MaxBimmer at home with my Win98 PC running IE5.5 to see if it also suffers the same effect.

AcidSnow
12-09-2002, 12:03 PM
I tried the forum on a Win95 machine with dial-up, and its fine, this is the only way I was able to post this message.:huh?:

e36_freak
12-09-2002, 12:12 PM
interesting........
i am running winxp, latest version of IE.... and going thru rogers cable & a router......
and maxbimmer works just like any other site to me.....

tlaselva
12-09-2002, 12:16 PM
Originally posted by AcidSnow
I tried the forum on a Win95 machine with dial-up, and its fine, this is the only way I was able to post this message.:huh?:

I'm suspecting the issue is connected to IE 6 or Win XP.
When I get home tonight, going to do some testing to see if I can narrow down the issue.

tlaselva
12-09-2002, 12:17 PM
Originally posted by e36_freak
interesting........
i am running winxp, latest version of IE.... and going thru rogers cable & a router......
and maxbimmer works just like any other site to me.....

What is your patch level at with IE & XP?

DunDan
12-09-2002, 12:18 PM
Yup, there's an odd delay loading all the pictures from the first page. Try bookmarking to directly to the forum page (That's what I do).

I'm using:
WinXP Pro
Rogers Cable
Router

BTW, Does anyone have solutions to using Windows Update behind a router?

Bliss
12-09-2002, 03:40 PM
Was this the case with our old server as well?

SickFinga
12-09-2002, 05:17 PM
I'm running WinXp IE6 with SP1 on Rogers Cable and I got no problem whatsoever.

SickFinga
12-09-2002, 05:21 PM
Actually I just remembered. On old host I actually had some major problems with the FORUM. Never had this problem on new host yet.

Maxbimmer.com worked for me but FORUM wasn't loading at all!!!
I noticed when I removed Automatically Detect Setting in Tools -> Internet Options -> Connections -> Lan settings Forum worked just perfect for me. Sometimes, i dunno why it activates Automatic crap again and I can't surf the FORUM. So I have to turn it off again.

So take a look there, we might have the same problem.


P.S. I only had this on Maxbimmer forum

Betray
12-09-2002, 05:28 PM
no problems here

Kal
12-09-2002, 06:55 PM
Originally posted by Bliss
Was this the case with our old server as well?

yup

but i found that its not as bad now with the new server

I do believe it has something to do with WinXP...

when i run maxbimmer from my labtop with win 2000 it runs perfect

AcidSnow
12-09-2002, 07:10 PM
the old server was like that too, but I can't tell when it started happening . . . .