PDA

View Full Version : T.V. Mods?


Irish-M3
11-26-2002, 07:43 PM
Anybody out there know how to overcome the TV turning off as soon as you move function? It would keep my missus real happy! Must be a wire to snip or something? REWARD OFFERED!!!

Pedro91'318i
11-26-2002, 07:54 PM
im not sure what your referring to but if no one replys here go to http://forums.roadfly.org/bmw/forums/e46m3/ they're helpful too with lots of tech stuff

Fast_Gal
11-27-2002, 12:44 AM
Originally posted by Irish-M3
Anybody out there know how to overcome the TV turning off as soon as you move function? It would keep my missus real happy! Must be a wire to snip or something? REWARD OFFERED!!!


I think i know what you're talking about. I'm assuming you have an in dash LCD with a TV tuner?
If i'm right then you are correct. It is illegal to have a tv in your car turned on while you're driving. Therefore those who install it by law must enable a "disabling tv" function when you begin to drive. I am told that it is actually a little more complicated than just snipping a wire. However it can be done. I'll try to ask a friend of mine. If not take it back to who ever installed it and tell them you want that feature disconnected.

djcontra
11-27-2002, 08:34 AM
i wonder if there is a motion sensor that turns it off
maybe you can remove the mercury capsule (or however they do it these days) and just join the two solder points with a wire to the on position?

that's my best guess anyway

Irish-M3
11-27-2002, 03:01 PM
Yep, the TV is the original BMW nav/computer etc standard unit. The BM mechanics haven't sussed it out yet, so for the fun I'll offer a small reward to anyone who cracks the problem. It doesen't have a mercury switch either!

Keep them coming!:P

M-sport
11-27-2002, 04:06 PM
If it is an aftermarket unit, just simply connect the light green(usually) wire to a grounded metal surface. Usually this wire gets connected to the parking brake switch. Grounding this wire makes the unit believe your parking break is always applied. To make myself clear, I'm not telling you to cut the original wire attached to the sensor. Just ground the new wire.