PDA

View Full Version : many questions about the interchangability(new word) of 325e and 325i

nismoMan
06-11-2006, 02:25 AM
alright, so here it goes, im kind of new to this. i know the 325 i and 325 e both have m20 6 cylinders(i think ) and the 325 e has metal bumpers and the 325 i has plastic but other than that what is the diffeence, can i swap my metal bumpers for the rieger gts kit, or for a alternatly cleaner front end. is there any interior differences. is there any motor differences what so ever,i.e. if i buy a intake system for a 89 35i and a header will this fit on my 85 325e? what about wheel spacing, and while im on that what is the deal with wheel spacing, is there one set of spacers or does this just depend on what kind of wheels i get. and what about exhaust ......damn I guess just tell me what is not interchangable between these cars thanks ... and what is the motor that bmw made that was turbo'd i know it was like either a 5 series or a 7 series in the mid 80's

thank you

calegrant
06-11-2006, 05:49 AM
I may be wrong with this, but chasis wise they're the same. As far as bumpers go the style of bumper is just relative to the year/spec it is. The motor is what sets them appart. The E is more of an economy gas saver while the i is more aggresive and tuneable for a street car. Look for an i in great shape for a starting platform, then if you can't find one or you find a really good E go with that for now.

///Mmm
06-11-2006, 05:13 PM
And the old turbo engine was in the 745i , it was a turbo 3.5 L engine(M30) .
This engine was in the european spec cars...south african spec cars got the e28 M5 engine in the 745i..great cars back in the day and they even had red needels(sp?) like the M spec cars.

T.Dot_E30
06-11-2006, 05:28 PM
Differences Between Models
Fred Kim