PDA

View Full Version : Best way to shift?

Dr. Flyview
06-01-2006, 12:59 AM
Hey,

I'm getting an e36 TOMORROW :D :D I'll post pics when I have time to take them. It's nothing special and in no great shape, but for $3900, it'll do as my first car :D

Ok so I'm new to manual. I've driven manual ONCE before in Romania. Please post any advice you have about shifting that may save me a clutch/tranny replacement in the future.

I'm not sure if you're supposed to press the gas a bit before releasing the clutch OTHER THAN in first gear.

Thanks,

Flaviu

bmwm5lover
06-01-2006, 01:05 AM
Use your hand to shift.

Justin e36
06-01-2006, 01:06 AM
Congratulations Flaviu. If you want an in-car tutorial feel free to ask, I'm sure one if not a few members would be willing to teach you.

propr'one
06-01-2006, 01:09 AM
What part of toronto do you live in? I'm no expert, but i drive stick on my daily, and if you live near me i can give you some pointers

here's a better idea:

Shifters.ca

131 bloor st. west, Suite 200
Toronto, Ontario M5S 1R8
416 921 7845

Ask for Carlos Tomas (have him teach you, ask for him by name, he's the owner)

best investment IMO

Dr. Flyview
06-01-2006, 01:12 AM
What part of toronto do you live in? I'm no expert, but i drive stick on my daily, and if you live near me i can give you some pointers

here's a better idea:

Shifters.ca

131 bloor st. west, Suite 200
Toronto, Ontario M5S 1R8
416 921 7845

Ask for Carlos Tomas (have him teach you, ask for him by name, he's the owner)

best investment IMO

I live at bathurst and lawrence. I really wouldn't wanna pay for this, as I think I can get the gist of it pretty quickly.

propr'one
06-01-2006, 01:14 AM
I could probably find some time to help you tomorrow if you like

Dr. Flyview
06-01-2006, 01:22 AM
I could probably find some time to help you tomorrow if you like