PDA

View Full Version : Oil Change: Need help!


e36chick
10-07-2005, 12:10 PM
Hey guys, my car needs an oil change ASAP...im not gonna be driving it in winter (will store in Dec when snow comes) but the computer is flashing for an oil change about 1-2000 kms ago. BMW is charging about 80$ for synthetic, same as Lakeside, i called them too. Anywhere else i can go that will do it for less? Or does that oil just cost that much.

Help appreciated, thanks guys...

RevShoT
10-07-2005, 12:19 PM
oil costs that much yes, your using 7 quarts of synthetic at like 8 bucks a quart and 15 for the filter

Ital_325i
10-07-2005, 01:06 PM
Bring it to Charlie aka bimmersport. Hes located in Mississauga, does great work, hes an E36 guru.

RevShoT
10-07-2005, 01:13 PM
Bring it to Charlie aka bimmersport. Hes located in Mississauga, does great work, hes an E36 guru.

ok

lets make a bill

7quarts of oil @ best is 60 bucks

add the filter which is 15
thats 75 bucks right there
5 bucks labour

there is the breakdown of your 80 buck oil change
how anyone can beat that price is beyond me

SickFinga
10-07-2005, 01:50 PM
Hey guys, my car needs an oil change ASAP...im not gonna be driving it in winter (will store in Dec when snow comes) but the computer is flashing for an oil change about 1-2000 kms ago. BMW is charging about 80$ for synthetic, same as Lakeside, i called them too. Anywhere else i can go that will do it for less? Or does that oil just cost that much.

Help appreciated, thanks guys...

80 for synthetic is cheap.


btw how often do you change your oil??

jeffrie
10-07-2005, 02:18 PM
Cosco has a box of 6 X 1 litres for $36 bucks (Castrol fully Synthetic).
Filter $15.
$51.00 and have 1L left over everytime doing it myself.

crusher
10-07-2005, 02:18 PM
I would jump on the $80 oil change.. Thats pretty cheap. If I go to the dealer I pay about 140 CND with 10w60 oil.. If I do it myself with 5w50 oil and filter it goes around 70 bucks. Go figure!

moregothanshow
10-07-2005, 02:47 PM
i got an oil filter for about $10 cdn taxes in from www.willz.ca its the mahle one too...

e36chick
10-07-2005, 04:21 PM
oh ok no problem...thanks a lot guys. i got the impression from someone else i was getting raped at 80$. i'll just call town and country on monday. :)

e36chick
10-07-2005, 05:01 PM
uhhh...pretty sure they used synthetic... :confused: thats whatthe service tech said on the phone anyway. yeah 80$ plus tax, includes a wash, not too bad.

sickfinga i got the car at 138 km, i waited til the green lights on the computer flashed for a service, and did an oil change...believe that was at 142. now it's at 150km. so...every 6-8k sounds about right...?

RevShoT
10-07-2005, 05:16 PM
thats about right

mpower1226
10-07-2005, 06:38 PM
I dont use synthetic, i use mineral oil but change it more frequently. everytime i comeback from track, it gets new oils. and just change the filter around 4k. i pay 15 bucks for the engine oil from the shop(castrol gtx) and once I need to change the filter i pay around 10bucks for the filter.

Jon@Bimmersport
10-07-2005, 07:40 PM
If i were you...skip the wash, its an automated one prolly jus like at my work (honda).

whoever told you that ur gettin ripped off, do they drive a BMW? maybe thats why they said it (if they dont...). Different cars use different stuff, labour is different for different cars as well sometimes.

Justin e36
10-07-2005, 07:55 PM
oh ok no problem...thanks a lot guys. i got the impression from someone else i was getting raped at 80$. i'll just call town and country on monday. :)

they probably forgot you've got a 6 banger under the hood.

T.Dot_E30
10-07-2005, 10:37 PM
they probably forgot you've got a 6 banger under the hood.

that or they think its a 4banger honda that only takes 3.5L of oil

e36chick
10-08-2005, 01:54 AM
they probably forgot you've got a 6 banger under the hood.

lol man i think YOU were the one that said something about getting it done a lot cheaper than 80$. :D

Justin e36
10-08-2005, 02:34 AM
lol man i think YOU were the one that said something about getting it done a lot cheaper than 80$. :D

could be... I do my oil changes with Castrol Syntec for $40.. labour I do myself. But that's only because the shop buys the synthetic oil by the drumloads and filters in bulk too. But my car is a 4 banger.. only 5 quarts needed.

Maranello charges $87.50 +tax for Synthetic. and $62.50 for mineral. Still pricey to poor people like me.

e36chick
10-08-2005, 02:34 AM
ok new question...if the oil change is done at home, how do u reset the lights?

Justin e36
10-08-2005, 02:37 AM
you need either the service reset tool, or to short out the pins on the connector under your hood. if you need, let me know.. I have the service tool and only takes a few seconds to do.

jeffrie
10-08-2005, 08:43 AM
^^^ so do I.
Best 100 bucks I'v ever spent.

e36chick
10-08-2005, 12:11 PM
hey justin...jorge is gonna help me with the oil change tonight, what are you up to? it would be sweet if you could come by or something with the service tool, or i could come by your place, no biggie. let me know...

Jon@Bimmersport
10-08-2005, 05:38 PM
hey justin...jorge is gonna help me with the oil change tonight, what are you up to? it would be sweet if you could come by or something with the service tool, or i could come by your place, no biggie. let me know...

is the "service tool" a code word for somethin else? lol ...playin

digiital
10-16-2005, 04:41 PM
Speaking of reseting. I just did a oil change today and I tried to reset my counter, based on some instructions I found on the net. But it didn't reset the lights. It said to short pin7 to ground, Turn the key to pos#2 and wait (I got the impression I would see some lights flash, but didnt) I waited about 3 secs as it said that was the lenght for the oil reset. But no go.

Anyone have a idea on to do it without the reset tool? (318i, M44)

you need either the service reset tool, or to short out the pins on the connector under your hood. if you need, let me know.. I have the service tool and only takes a few seconds to do.

Pawel_11_11
10-17-2005, 01:41 AM
you get a wire and plug it into the 7 and 19 on the round outlet, and turn the ignition to the second position, wait like 5 sec then pull the wires. It should reset right away. I do all my own oil changes and it always works for me!

digiital
10-17-2005, 02:06 AM
So while the key is at pos#2 you pull the wire? What I was doing was waiting 3-5 seconds then turn the key off and then pulled the wire.
I'll give your method a shot Monday.

Pawel_11_11
10-17-2005, 03:27 AM
yea it works for me...let me know if you have any probs. I'm doing it on a M42 motor but I dont think it should matter.

Pawel_11_11
10-17-2005, 03:29 AM
yea thats run the wire from the 7 to the 19....not to a ground!!

arsevader
10-17-2005, 10:27 AM
yea thats run the wire from the 7 to the 19....not to a ground!!

Pin 19 is the ground!!

James

digiital
10-17-2005, 10:50 AM
Ya I was just about to say the same thing.

http://www.unofficialbmw.com/e36/electrical/e36_reset_service_lights.html

I followed the instructions on this link but didn't work. But I'll try pull the wire out while the key is in pos#2 tonight.

Storamin
10-17-2005, 12:12 PM
a porsche owner would be jumping up and down in joy at that price.


11 quarts of oil...

digiital
10-17-2005, 06:46 PM
Ok still no joy.

I got home and did the following. Pull the key out. Connected pin #7 to ground. Put the key back into pos#2, ran back to the diag terminal waited about 3-4 seconds after I put the key into Pos#2 and disconnected the ground. Turn the key to off and then waited a sec or two then back to pos#2 to see if the lights had been reset and still no go.

Pawel_11_11
10-17-2005, 07:54 PM
See I dont know if 19 is supposed to be a ground or not. I went to the website you provided and I have the terminal on the right of the page. I just run the wires from 7 to 19 and did the exact same thing as you described and it works... haha I just did it like 5 min ago just for kicks and no probs!

digiital
10-17-2005, 09:54 PM
Well I'll give #19 a shot on Tuesday.

Antz_Marchin
10-17-2005, 11:04 PM
I get it done at the dealer in St Catharines on my M3 for 100 flat. I'm more than happy with that.

jeffrie
10-17-2005, 11:12 PM
^^^ seems like such a waste, my Pikes peak tool cost 20 bucks more then one of your oil changes do. And has saved me much much more ealswere.