PDA

View Full Version : A/C Pressure


digiital
10-04-2005, 01:33 PM
Ok so I took a trip to the US last weekend and picked up a A/C recharge kit. Now the thing is that I'm missing the little sticker(I know it was there before) how much I should charge up the A/C system too.

The car is a 96 318i(m44) . Anyone know the pressure?

digiital
10-04-2005, 08:24 PM
Interesting. I connected the pressure gauge, and it said that the system was all charged and all fine. The AC is working and cold is coming out, just don't think it's cool enough, maybe it's just the problem with 134a, not as cold as the older Freon(Which my older car had)

propr'one
10-04-2005, 09:37 PM
Although i'll admit i know little on the subject, i know there was an issue of converting the older-gas cars to the newer gas, i think something needed to be done other than changing the gas alone. i'd look into it

digiital
10-04-2005, 10:29 PM
I think you must of mis-understood. The 96 I have IS using the newer(134a) gas. I think the problem is that the older stuff(what ever the name was) had a colder temp, compared to the newer stuff. Maybe in the back of my head I was thinking that the bimmer was low on gas and thats why it wasn't as cold as my 92 car.

325iSBimmer
10-04-2005, 10:36 PM
did u get it in the cans..
cause it will take 2 of them.. which is about 2.2 lbs

Justin e36
10-04-2005, 11:11 PM
you did change your microfilter, right?... if it can't push enough air out the A/C will choke up and won't get very cold.

And yes, the newer 134a is not as cold as the older A/C systems... but it's friendlier for the environment. :)

digiital
10-05-2005, 12:30 AM
Ya the kit I got came with a LARGE can, and also got a second one, but since the system was FULL I didn't put anything into it.

did u get it in the cans..
cause it will take 2 of them.. which is about 2.2 lbs

digiital
10-05-2005, 12:31 AM
Good question. I've had the car for 6 months and I haven't changed it, and as far as I know it's never been changed. The car now has 100,300Km and I got it at about 92,000. So maybe I should take a drive to bmw get a filter and go ahead and change it anyways. Just in case.

you did change your microfilter, right?... if it can't push enough air out the A/C will choke up and won't get very cold.

And yes, the newer 134a is not as cold as the older A/C systems... but it's friendlier for the environment. :)

Justin e36
10-05-2005, 02:07 AM
filters are cheaper at Canadian Tire... same thing, different packaging.

digiital
10-05-2005, 02:56 AM
?? Crappy sells micro filters for bmws? We are talking about the one just above the passengers legs right? Not the engine air filter. If thats the case, I'll just walk across the street then :)

Dudesky_E36
10-09-2005, 10:06 AM
Stick a thermometer in the center vent. The ones you use for cooking meat in the oven work well. It should be blowing about 45F degrees if you're in doubt about how cold it should be.