PDA

View Full Version : new to the maXworld, and already starting with the questions

BMWags
04-11-2005, 02:43 AM
hi everyone,

i am fairly new to maX and ive been using this forum to get aquainted with the BMW world. i'm currently in the market for a 1992-1997 e36 *mw* 4door. Also, while searching the forum i came upon common problems for this model but i would like more information on body rust/bubbling. Where are the common areas of corrosion and how big of an issue is rust with these cars?
(i'm sure the amount rust varies depending on the care the previous owner gave it, but usually it follows patterns nonetheless)

thanks in advance, cheers!! *wave*

BMWags
04-12-2005, 03:44 PM
does anyone have any rust horror stories regarding this model?

ChahalzBMR
04-12-2005, 03:47 PM
I find the nose panel to become rust very quickly but that is thanks for the chips on highway...most of the body is built pretty solid. I have a few rust spots on the rear doors. That's all.

SkycityBMW
04-12-2005, 04:19 PM
I have a 92 325i . . . not much rust on mine . . just by the door.
and as Chahalzbmr said the nose panel . . damn rocks ! !

Oh yeah . . . . Welcome to maXbimmer ! ! !

97M3/4
04-12-2005, 04:26 PM
ive seen a couple of older ones have some rust around the trunk area, but i doubt they were taken care of...most are pretty clean.

bmwm5lover
04-12-2005, 05:49 PM
On the 92, I would also be very wary of the rear-subframe cracking issue. Just some food for thought...

SkycityBMW
04-12-2005, 06:14 PM
Yeah, bmwm5lover . . . . I forgot about that issue . . . depends on how the previous owner(s) drove the car.